Skip to main content

SENYLRC Matters January & February 2015: Volume 11, Issue 1

Volume 11, Issue 1

Welcome from Tessa Killian, SENYLRC's Interim Executive Director

January News From Southeastern

Southeastern is starting the New Year with exciting Council news and events. As you will read below, Patricia Carroll-Mathes retired from the Council in December. Patricia has a long relationship with the Council, serving as a Trustee on the Board for ten years and working at member library, Ulster Community College, for the majority of her career. Patricia’s culminating project combines her love of community college libraries with her last position at SENYLRC as Hospital Library Coordinator. She will be promoting National Library of Medicine resources to community colleges.

Congratulations also go to Carolyn Bennett, who completed her graduate work at SUNY Albany this December. Carolyn's role at SENYLRC is expanding, and as of January, she is our Member Services Librarian for Education and Outreach. She is busy scheduling some exciting programs for you this spring, including the ones listed below in the newsletter.


 In related news, Moshe Siegel, SENYLRC’s Office Manager, is organizing the office as well as taking on some of Carolyn's previous responsibilities, including keeping us all informed about member activities via Twitter and Facebook.

Starting at the end of January, the Council is hosting an impressive array of events, Please keep reading for more information on programming including An introduction to editing Wikipedia entries, remote access to the Electronic Resources and Libraries Conference, Creating Powerful Presentations, and a very special event at Bard College called The Library Freedom Project.

Tessa Killian, Interim Executive Director

Patricia Carroll-Mathes

Patricia - Retired, but still at it!

At the end of 2014, Patricia Carroll-Mathes officially retired from her position as Hospital Library Program Manager at SENYLRC. However, our membership will still be benefiting from her valuable skills. This winter and spring, Patricia is embarking on one final consulting job at SENYLRC that will take her back to her roots. During this time, Patricia will be solely focused on administering a NLM/MAR project with community colleges and working with librarians who provide instruction and reference to healthcare students and faculty.

Patricia has had a long and fruitful career in librarianship. Prior to her work as a SENYLRC employee, Patricia was a school librarian, followed by working as a librarian at Ulster Community College. During that time, she was also a member of the SENYLRC Board of Trustees, serving as both Treasurer and Vice President. One of her most significant achievements while at Ulster Community College was the establishment of an information literacy program, including required credit-bearing classes. She finds it "gratifying" to know that "the initiative continues to this day, with improvements and technical enhancements."

Reflecting back on her work at Ulster, Patricia points to a sabbatical in 1981 that piqued her interest in special libraries and National Library of Medicine resources. She was investigating automation and database access in Federal Libraries, spending a week of training with MEDLINE, and a week learning about bibliographic searching at NIH. She feels happy to report back that "medical resources have come a long way since then!"

Patricia's current project will help to promote the modern incarnation of NLM resources to all the community colleges in the area. It's no surprise that she is starting back at Ulster, where she is assisting with presentations for graduating students in the nursing and veterinary programs and working to promote awareness of the excellent, free NLM resources available for healthcare professionals, students, patients, and consumers.

During Patricia's consulting work, she will not be in the SENYLRC office every day, but you can still reach her at pcarroll@senylrc.org, or leave her a message at 845-883-9065 x117.
 

Patricia Carroll-Mathes


 

New SENYLRC Staff Positions

Moshe Siegel, Office Manager

As you may recall from the November & December SENYLRC Matters, our newest hire Moshe Siegel has been hard at work to improve our office management. He spent his first weeks on the job fastidiously organizing our office, which has resulted in a fresh new environment here at headquarters. After taking that first step in helping the SENYLRC staff streamline operations, Moshe is now taking on additional responsibilities to help support Council operations.

Much of what he'll be doing is behind-the-scenes, including keeping our office records retention policy in place, coordinating MISP payments, and providing support to the staff. He is also handling some communications roles including keeping our website current, and keeping you current if you follow us on our Twitter feed or Facebook page. As you may have noticed, both those social media outlets are already perking up with activity since he took the reigns last week.

Moshe will also be working on some content for the newsletter, starting with this first, related article:

Carolyn Bennett, Member Services Librarian for Education and Outreach

Carolyn Bennett has recently completed her coursework to finish her Master’s degree with an MS in Information Sciences and MA in History at the University at Albany. Pursuant to that notable achievement, Carolyn has progressed from her role at SENYLRC as Program Assistant for Communications to a full-time Librarian position as Member Services Librarian for Education and Outreach. This dynamic position expands Carolyn’s current communication and continuing education duties in many valuable ways for our membership: Carolyn will not only continue to orchestrate SENYLRC’s diverse schedule of workshops and seminars, but will also conduct outreach in the form of information-gathering site visits among our members, to listen to their needs and further elevate SENYLRC’s high level of member service with topical, relevant programming.

Moshe & Carolyn

Moshe and Carolyn at the (now super clean and organized!) SENYLRC Headquarters.

If you have a general question for SENYLRC, Moshe is your go-to guy.
Inquiring minds want to know: how does he pronounce his name? When you call him, you can do so confidently with the knowledge that he uses this phonetic pronunciation: MO-shuh

If you want to give us news about your library, have an idea to share with the membership, or an idea for a continuing education program, Carolyn would love to hear from you. While we're at it: this how her name is pronounced.

Jon Grennan

Bio

Former SENYLRC Board Member Jon Grennan recently accepted a position as Director of Library and Information Services of the Conrad N. Hilton Library of the Culinary Institute of America in Hyde Park, NY. Jon will have responsibility for overseeing library operations, strategic planning, budgeting, and technological innovation.

Jon previously served as Director of Library at Rockland Community College, in Suffern, NY, in 2014 and as Director of Library Services at SUNY Sullivan in Loch Sheldrake, NY, from 2002 through 2013. During his tenure there, he served on the SENYLRC Board of Trustees from 2007-2013, chaired the Technology Review and Advisory Committee, 2006-2007, and was a member of the Electronic Resources Advisory Committee from 2004-2006, serving as chair during his last year of service on that committee. Jon holds a Master of Library Science from Indiana University and a Bachelor of Arts in Letters from the University of Oklahoma.

Jon Grennan

Lynn @ FDR

Award presentation at the Annual Meeting

Board of Trustee member Kari Mack presents the 2014 Twila Snead Award to Lynn Bassanese at the 2014 SENYLRC Annual Meeting

About Lynn Bassanese

Lynn Bassanese, known to so many of us during her impressive tenure at the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum, will be retiring on January 30, 2015. That date is not entirely coincidentally FDR's birthday. Bassanese has been working at the library since 1972, starting as an archivists' aide. In 2011 she was appointed as acting director, and transitioned to being the director in 2013.

During that time, she oversaw the start and completion of the library's Henry A. Wallace Visitor and Education Center as well as the recent $35 million renovation of the library including $6 million in new permanent exhibits. In the past year, she directed the launch of Franklin, the ambitious digital repository featuring thousands of documents and images in the archive's collection. In 2014, SENYLRC recognized that achievement with the inaugural Twila Snead Award for Excellence. 

When asked about her thoughts on retirement, Bassanese told us, "I will miss so many things about the Library especially the partnerships we enjoyed with organizations like SENYLRC which gave us the wonderful opportunity to share our resources." It is without a doubt that her peers feel the same way about her, and we will certainly miss Lynn's good humor and exceptional advocacy for our local treasure.

According to the Poughkeepsie Journal, a search for a new director is underway with a job posting on www.archives.gov.

Wikipedia for Libraries

Edit Wikipedia

Learn how to edit Wikipedia pages for your institution!

Don't miss out! This class is coming up very quickly - Tuesday, January 27th

logo

Introduction to Wikipedia for Libraries, Archives and Museums

Date: Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Time: 1:00pm-4:00pm
Location: SENYLRC
Trainer: Dorothy Howard, METRO

Cost: $10 for members (including members of other NY3R's councils), $15 for non-members
Register Here: http://senylrc.org/Wikipedia_Class

Curious how Wikipedia might be a useful resource for libraries, archives, and museums? This workshop will detail the emerging #GLAM-Wiki movement (that's Galleries, Libraries, Archives, and Museums with Wikipedia), discuss ways your institution can engage with and utilize Wikipedia, and provide an introduction to creating and editing Wikipedia articles, pages, and projects.

Wikipedia is one of the most heavily trafficked sites on the World Wide Web and is often a first-stop for those seeking information online, including about cultural heritage and library resources. This workshop will explore examples of successful past Wikipedia projects in GLAMs and examine ideas for engaging wikipedians as well as the general public in Wikipedia related events. It will also cover the technical details of creating and editing Wikipedia content as well as an introduction to Wikimedia Commons, a resource for CC-licensed images and other media content. Lastly, it will also discuss ways to incorporate Wikipedia into the workflow, how to avoid conflicts of interest, and ways in which library and museum-related articles can be standardized to be most effective.

Who should attend:
This workshop is geared toward working archivists, librarians, or other information professionals who are interested in the tools Wikipedia offers to help make collection and institutional information available online. The workshop is also intended for collection managers, catalogers, and other social media professionals interested in practical ways to organize and describe content on the Wikipedia.

By the end of this workshop, participants will:

  •     Have a basic understanding of how to create articles and do edits using Wiki markup
  •     Know examples of successful GLAM-wiki projects and events and how they were carried out
  •     Know standard ways that library and archival content is written about and structured on Wikipedia
  •     Know what tools and resources are available to help with learning how to use Wikipedia

Dorothy Howard is the Metropolitan New York Library Council's Wikipedian-in-Residence and Open Data fellow. Dorothy provides consultation, project support, and technical advising on Wikipedia editing to the New York community. Dorothy has also lectured widely on Wikipedia and offers staff Wikipedia editing trainings to institutions, as well as advising on Wikipedia Edit-a-thon and events organizing. She is a regional representative for Wikimedia NYC.

Register Here: http://senylrc.org/Wikipedia_Class

ER&L Conference

Stay and Learn at Home

Can't make it to Austin for the ER&L Conference?

We've got you covered -- join us for online viewing of all three conference days!

ER&L Logo

Electronic Resources & Libraries Online Conference

Date: Monday, February 23 - Wednesday, February 25
Time: 10:00am - 5:00pm
Location: SENYLRC

Cost: FREE for members
Register Here: http://senylrc.org/ERL

SENYLRC will be hosting online viewing for the 10th Annual Electronic Resources & Libraries Conference. (ER&L) This event is free to SENYLRC members.

This year's conference tracks include:
1) Managing e-Resources & Licensing
2) Collection Development & Assessment
3) Organizational Strategies
4) External Relationships
5) User Experience
6) Scholarly Communication
7) Library as Publisher
8) Emerging Technologies & Trends

http://electroniclibrarian.org/

This is one registration for all three days, so in the "notes/comments" section just let us know what days & times you plan to attend.

Presentations

By popular demand!

Brush up your presentation performance skills at SENYLRC this winter!

Powerpoint logo

Do you want to make an impression with your next presentation?

Date: Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Time: 9:30 am-3:30 pm

Location: SENYLRC
Speaker: Polly-Alida Farrington, PA Farrington Associates


Cost: $30 for members (including members of other NY3R's councils), $35 for non-members
Register here: http://senylrc.org/Presentations_Class

Are you ready to add some pizzazz to your presentations? This workshop will help you create engaging presentations and deliver your message effectively and memorably. We'll look at the different elements of a presentation, including graphics, organizing your content, a variety of presentation tools and backup plans. You will learn ways to effectively engage your audience, discover low-cost and free resources for graphics to help you deliver your message, examine alternative presentation tools, learn basic principles of data visualization and select appropriate tools to make your next presentation more effective.

Privacy Workshop

Calling all radical librarians!

Help keep your patrons' privacy private at this SENYLRC event!

The FBI Has Not Been Here

The Library Freedom Project

Date: Apr. 17, 2015
Time: 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Location: Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson - Laszlo Z. Bito '60 Auditorium at the Reem-Kayden Center for Science and Computation
Presented by: Alison Macrina, Watertown Free Public Library; Kade Crockford, ACLU of Massachusetts; Jessie Rossman, ACLU of Massachusetts

Cost: $15 for members, including members of other NY3R's Councils
$5 for students (register under your .edu email for the discount, or show ID at the event.)

Register here: http://senylrc.org/library_freedom

Alison Macrina, founder of the Library Freedom Project and Supervisor of Technology and Information Management at the Watertown Free Public Library, Kade Crockford, Director of the Technology for Liberty Program at the ACLU of Massachusetts, and Jessie Rossman, staff attorney at the ACLU of Massachusetts, will present a workshop on issues of privacy and surveillance as they relate to libraries.

The following topics will be covered, with time for Q & A:
Kade Crockford: An introduction to current issues of surveillance and privacy, focusing on government and corporate surveillance. Kade will address how privacy rights fit into the greater mission of libraries as democratic institutions committed to intellectual freedom, and how surveillance threatens the core values of librarianship defined by the ALA Library Bill of Rights.

Jessie Rossman: A privacy rights primer for librarians covering federal, state, and local laws, and including tips on what to do in real-life library situations where privacy rights are threatened (eg receipt of a National Security Letter, police demanding search or seizure of library computers, etc).

Alison Macrina: A discussion and demonstration of practical tools for online privacy that can be implemented in library PC environments or taught to patrons in classes/one-on-one tech sessions, including browsers for privacy and anonymity, tools for secure deletion of cookies, cache, and internet history, tools to prevent online tracking, and encryption for online communications.

Read more about the project on Knight News Challenge.

3 great resources to use in 2015!

MISP

Are you making the most of MISP?

ALL SENYLRC members (not just hospital libraries) are welcome to use this service to find medical information for patrons.

The New York State Medical Information Services Program (MISP) is designed to assist libraries of all types in helping New York residents obtain the medical information they need by subsidizing document delivery.

For Librarians (Public, Academic, Special, Hospital...)
When a patron requests medical or healthcare information resources (journal articles, reports, etc.) that are not available locally, but identified in PubMed or other databases, MISP subsidizes the document delivery fees charged by libraries in the National Network of Libraries of Medicine. Requests should be related to patient care, consumer health, research in medicine, or the education of health practitioners.
MISP comes into play when you need to go beyond the usual local or system borrowing arrangements. There are no fees for the library or the patron. All categories of users qualify: students, health care consumers, health care professionals, and researchers.

To make a request, please use our ILL Request form, contact Judy Fischetti or visit the MISP page on our website for more details.

What's new on Lynda.com

You might find one of these new courses helpful to your work:

SENYLRC members can register on the Lynda.com page of our website to borrow a 30-day license to partake of all the great Lynda.com courses!

Tech Talk

Are you receiving our weekly Tech-Talk emails? They're free to SENYLRC members, and you can sign up by subscribing to our member listserv: SE List.

The weekly emails contain a broad range of salient technical information, ranging from beginner to advanced. Recent topics included:

  • Transcription services
  • Optimizing the use of speaker slides in PowerPoints
  • Windows 8 made easy
  • Using lines to make visually pleasing documents

In addition to the weekly emails, SENYLRC members can ask the IT professionals at Tech-Talk for help with specific questions. (email Carolyn Bennett for the login information.)

2015 Twila Snead Award

The 2015 Twila Snead Award for Excellence

Nominations will be open soon for the 2015 Twila Snead Award. We encourage you to start thinking about an individual, library, or library program that is deserving of recognition for their work.

Nomination Forms

Last year's award

The inaugural award was presented in 2014 to the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum for Franklin, their virtual research room and digital repository with tens of thousands of items that are now accessible to the public.

The plaque that now hangs in the SENYLRC office and the award given to the FDR Presidential Library.

Criteria & Eligibility

The Board of Trustees of Southeastern NY Library Resources Council (SENYLRC) has opened the nomination period for this year’s award. This award is designed to recognize an outstanding member library, cultural heritage organization, program, service, or staff member.

The award is named in honor of Twila Snead, who was the Medical Library Manager at St. Luke’s Cornwall Hospital in Newburgh, NY for twenty years. Twila was recognized for her exemplary work as a committed, innovative, solo librarian and leader who served her own institution with distinction and generously shared her passion, knowledge and technological skills with colleagues and the wider library community. She was constantly learning, advocating for resources and services, developing her technological expertise, and thinking creatively about advocacy and outreach. Her demonstrated professional commitment, hard work, and dedication to continuous improvement established the framework that inspired this award for excellence in librarianship.

Eligibility:

This award is for members of SENYLRC, including individuals at any staffing level, organizations or programs created by member organizations.

Criteria:

Individuals, organizations or programs must achieve excellence in one or more of the following:

  • Leadership in the creation of a new or enhanced service model that can be emulated by other libraries or cultural organizations.
  • Improvements in physical facilities that result in better services.
  • Creation of an innovative program or collection that enhances the lives of the organization’s constituents.
  • The development of a program that touches the lives of individuals who are otherwise underserved by their communities.
  • Provision of a service to the community that is not available from any other library, archive, cultural heritage organization or library system, or that is outside the organization’s primary mission or the individual’s job description and benefited the community in which the organization resides.

The Nomination Process:

  • A candidate, organization, or program may be nominated by a co-worker, an individual from the library profession who resides in the region, by a member of the community served by the organization, or can be self-nominated.
  • Nominations will be reviewed by the SENYLRC Award Recognition Committee, consisting of the SENYLRC executive director, two members from the Board of Trustees representing different library types, and one SENYLRC staff member.
  • Nomination forms will be available on senylrc.org.
  • The award will be presented at the SENYLRC Annual Meeting in June.

The Timeframe:

  • Nominations will be accepted until April 24, 2015.
  • The SENYLRC Award Recognition Committee will make the announcement of the award in mid-May.

More information at: http://senylrc.org/Twila_Snead

Board of Trustees Vacancy

SENYLRC Board of Trustees Opening

SENYLRC is seeking suggestions of candidates for the Board of Trustees who are not librarians, but who could represent the research community served by the council. At least two slots on the Board of Trustees are earmarked for this category. Due to our current concentration of Trustees from Dutchess County, there is a particular need for representation from other parts of our service area: Ulster, Sullivan, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Columbia, and Greene Counties. The ideal candidates would have some interest in and familiarity with the available library and information resources in the region, and would be available for regular participation in Board meetings, which occur Thursday mornings on a monthly basis. Please contact Tessa Killian at killian@senylrc.org or (845) 883-9065 x114 with names and contact information about persons who might be considered for these positions.

Downloadable Document

NYLA Advocacy Day

NYLA's Library Advocacy Day

See you there!

Wednesday, Feburary 25, 2015 in Albany, NY

All of the details of the day including transportation, legislative office visits and lodging are on the NYLA Advocacy Day website.

Details for the day

NYLA Library Advocacy Day (see the NYLA website for full details)

Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Each year library advocates from across New York State converge on Albany to voice their support for funding and policies that benefit libraries. Their efforts have resulted in over $7M in additional library aid since 2011.

SENYLRC staff will be at this year's event, and we look forward to seeing you there!


Summary of Event

Most activities will take place in the Legislative Office Building (LOB). The LOB is most easily accessed from the Concourse, or through the Capitol Building. Prepare for airport-like security while entering the building. NYLA 'Base Camp' will be available in LOB120 beginning at 8:00AM for packet pick-up and sign-in.

The Rally for Library Advocates 12:00 PM

Legislative Office Visits

Meetings with individual Legislators (or their office) are coordinated by library systems, or regional coordinators.  NYLA will have a listing of all the legislative office visits that we have been made aware of at the NYLA Base Camp (LOB120).

Please be sure to review the 2015 NYLA Legislative Priorities prior to your meetings.


Virtual Advocacy

If you can’t make it to Albany, you can still help the cause!  Post to your Facebook wall, Tweet about Library Aid, or add a button to your library’s website. Check out our page dedicated to Virtual Advocacy.

News You Can Use

NY3R's WEBINAR: Saving to the Cloud

Register here: http://www.ny3rs.org/educational-opportunities/event-registration/?action=evregister&event_id=38

Wouldn't it be wonderful to get to your files no matter where you were? You now can! You can save files "to the cloud" and, as long as you have Internet access, you should be able to access them. Cloud storage is one of the newer technologies that could make your life a whole lot easier!

This series, Tech Topics, is primarily lecture-based and introduces library staff to technologies that may impact libraries and library services.

This event is sponsored by the NY3R's and is open to all SENYLRC members.

Teaching the Hudson Valley

Last year, SENLYRC partnered with Teaching the Hudson Valley to provide programming for educators who use primary sources in their classrooms. Some of the graduates of that program are now available to assist others. For more information, visit Teaching The Hudson Valley, or visit the For Educators section of HRVH.org.

DPLA Strategic Plan

DPLA has just announced its strategic plan 2015-2017. Phase 1 was start-up, Phase 2 was set-up, and now Phase 3 is focusing on promoting the service. Now is a great time to become familiar with DPLA, because 2015 many SENYLRC members will be able to actively participate in the service. From their press announcement:

"Beginning this year, and with the release of our strategic plan for the next three years, the Digital Public Library of America will hit its stride. We encourage you to read the plan to see what’s in store, but also to know that it will require your help and support; so much in the plan is community-driven, and will be done with that same emphasis on widespread and productive collaboration."

New MLA ED

In their latest newsletter, Medical Library Association (MLA) announced that their newest Executive Director will be Kevin Baliozian. He will begin on January 15, 2015.

Computers in Libraries - Discount code available

If you are a SENYLRC member planning on going to this year's conference, give us a call at (845) 883-9065 to get the discount code for $180 off the regular 3-day conference price!.

SUNYLA Midwinter Online Conference

SUNYLA Midwinter Online Conference 2015

DIY Toolbox: Library Innovation on a Shoestring

January 30, 2015 (10: a.m. - 2:30 p.m.)
Cost of Attendance: Free to all!
Registration opens January 7, 2015.

New low-cost and free technology tools are constantly being developed in this digital age, and it can be hard to keep up. The SUNYLA Midwinter Online Conference planning committee is tapping into the librarian hive mind to share presentations on best practices for implementing free or low-cost tech tool(s) at your library.  

Presentations will be 15-20 minutes in length, and will include a demonstration of how the presenters are using the tool(s), what they’ve learned that other librarians should know, and any positive/negative feedback that on the technology.

Technology requirements for attendance:  Computer, internet connection, microphone/speakers (headset recommended) or telephone.  GoToWebinar will be used for this conference and is free for use by attendees. Register here: http://www.sunyla.org/midwinter2015

New York State Library Assistants' Association

Library assistants from the South Central Region will be hosting the “New York State Library Assistants’ Association” (NYSLAA) 37th Annual Conference on June 17-19, 2015. Learn more about NYSLAA at: http://www.nyslaa.org/. The conference is being held at the Radisson Hotel on Denison Parkway in beautiful Corning. The theme of this year’s conference is “Library Assistants: Towering within the Library Profession.” The conference will be a wonderful opportunity for the library assistants from your library to learn; to network with colleagues from across the state; and to visit the wonderful city of Corning.

The composition of NYSLAA as of January 2014 includes 300 members representing 140 individual libraries from 106 different institutions. It continues to provide a network for communication among us all, which enables us to further our personal growth. We would like to see this membership continue to grow and expand to all libraries within New York state and beyond.

Credits

SENYLRC Matters is a group effort of input from SENYLRC's staff and is edited by Carolyn Bennett, Member Services Librarian for Education and Outreach.

SENYLRC Executive Director Search

Job Posting

Southeastern NY Library Resources Council (SENYLRC) is seeking an Executive Director. The Executive Director is responsible for all aspects of the operation of the Council, in accordance with NYS Education Law, Regulations of the NYS Commissioner of Education, SENYLRC Bylaws of the Board of Trustees, and SENYLRC Personnel policies. Acting as Chief Executive Officer of the Council, the Executive Director is appointed by and reports to the 15-member SENYLRC Board of Trustees.

The ideal candidate will be a proven leader with a vision for the future of publicly-funded library services and an outstanding communicator, manager and advocate, who has experience with human resource administration, fiscal management, member services and multitype library cooperatives.

State regulations require that the Executive Director

  • hold a Master of Library Science (MLS) degree from an ALA-accredited institution,
  • hold or be eligible to hold a New York State Public Librarian Certificate,
  • have eight or more years of professional library experience (post MLS) with at least two years in an administrative capacity.

A full position description and application instructions at are available at http://www.senylrc.org/execdirsearch

 

Southeastern NY Library Resources Council
21 South Elting Corners Road | Highland, NY 12528
Phone: (845) 883-9065
www.senylrc.org