Nominations are now open for the 2016 Twila Snead Commitment to Excellence award. The intent of the Twila Snead Commitment to Excellence Award is to recognize an outstanding member organization, program, service or staff member. We are looking for several qualities from nominees.Our two previous award winners fit the qualifications for the award in unique and exciting ways, and I know that there are shining stars among our membership that are deserving of recognition this year.
The award was designed to honor excellence in our region’s libraries, and it is an opportunity to share your accomplishments with Southeastern's community and be recognized at the 49th Annual Meeting of the council on June 3rd, 2016 at the Culinary Institute of America.
As in the past two years, we will honor an individual or an organization that demonstrates leadership of a new or enhanced service model, improvements in physical facilities that result in better service, creation of programs that enhance the experiences of constituents or for a program that helps undeserved communities.
In other words, please tell us about something that happened this past year that is unique, special and excellent!
Previous award winners are the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum for FRANKLIN – Access to the FDR Library’s Digital Collections in 2014 and Rhonda L. Altonen, Library Director at Barrytown College of UTS in Barrytown, NY in 2015, who was recognized for her work in revitalizing an old seminary library into a thriving collection for the undergraduate students.
We look forward to reviewing your nominations!
See the newsletter below for the details and registrations, or our calendar on the right.
At a glance:
View for all announced SENYLRC events on our upcoming events webpage
Trainers:James Hartmann, Jessica Breitman, Lisa Zuena, and James Hutter
Date: Tuesday, January 12, 2016
Time: 11:00am - 12:30pm
Location: Your Computer
$5 for members, $10 for non-members
More info and registration at: http://www.senylrc.org/MinecraftWebinar
Register here: http://www.senylrc.org/MinecraftWebinar
Join members of the Nassau County Library Association’s Pop culture and Technology Committees as they teach the basics of the insanely popular Minecraft video game! This event will cover definitions of terms, gameplay options, plus differences between PC, console, and mobile versions. Bring your questions or experiences to the discussion! Whether you’re an expert or beginner with Minecraft, all Librarians are welcome!
About the presenters:
James Hartmann is the Digital Services Librarian and Webmaster at Hewlett-Woodmere Public Library, and a fan of all things Minecraft. He can be contacted at email@example.com.
Jessica Breitman is a children's librarian at Bellmore Memorial Library. Since September 2014, she’s been running her library’s “Minecraft Nights” for school-age children. She can be reached at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Lisa Zuena works at the Massapequa Public Library in Long Island, New York as a Young Adult Services librarian. She has used her lifelong love of video gaming and pop culture to create new collections and programs for the teens at her library. She can be reached at email@example.com.
James Hutter is the Head of Technology for the Westbury Memorial Public Library in New York and Chairperson of the Nassau County Library Association's Computers & Technology Committee. When not spending the evening hours playing the latest video games, he can be found deep in the woods happily hiking or camping. Email at: firstname.lastname@example.org
Presenter: Peter Iglinski
Date: Thursday, February 25, 2016
Time: 1:30pm - 4:30pm
Location: SENYLRC Conference Room
$15 for members, $20 for non-members
More info and registration at: http://www.senylrc.org/SpeakingWithImpact
Register here: http://www.senylrc.org/SpeakingWithImpact
Advocacy requires solid reasoning, effective language, and a credible performance. And when presentations are made in small group settings or one-on-one, impromptu speaking skills are a must.
This workshop will incorporate group discussions, as well as writing and speaking exercises, in a relaxed—even fun—environment to help participants develop the needed skills. Come prepared to think, talk, and contribute.
Peter Iglinski has made communications his life’s work. After three decades in broadcast journalism, he heeded the call of academia. Peter is now a senior press officer at the University of Rochester, where he writes about science research and coaches faculty on how to work with the news media. If one college-setting is good, two are better—which is why he also works as the public speaking instructor at Nazareth College.
His background in radio, coupled with his involvement in Toastmasters International, prompted Peter to become a public speaking coach. In 1999 he started Speech Repair to help people with their verbal communication skills.
In his not-so-spare time, Peter is working on his master’s degree in linguistics at the University of Rochester. His thesis involves the phonology of conversational speech.
On Friday, April 15, 2016, SENYLRC will be presenting a unique conference to highlight the unique talents residing at our member organizations. Are you working on a presentation for NYLA or SUNYLA and want to give it a test run in front of a friendly audience? Did you present a paper at work that deserves to be shared? Could you use a forum to practice your public presentation skills? We invite you to share your skills with your colleagues at SENY-CON 2016! Using the form below, please let us know about your project, idea, or presentation, and the best proposals will earn a spot at the first annual SENY-CON!
We ask that you submit your proposal no later than Friday, February 12, 2016.
The following SIGs are next up on SENYLRC's calendar. Registration details are below!
Date: Tuesday, January 19, 2016
Time: 1:30pm - 4:30pm
Convener: Kristy Lee, SUNY New Paltz
Snow date: Friday, January 29, 2016
Register here: http://www.senylrc.org/eBooksSIG
This event is available to members at no cost.
This lunchtime SIG will focus on a topic about Library Instruction. This month's meeting will focus on resource sharing, and is an opportunity to share what you know and to learn from your peers. Bring a favorite lesson or assessment plan to share. Be prepared to discuss technological tools you’ve found helpful for both lesson planning and assessment. Prepare any questions you have about how to reach out to faculty, how to craft a lesson plan for a particular content area, or how to assess that lesson. Your peers may hold the answer you’ve been searching for!
If you would like a refresher on the conversations the group has had so far, you can find notes from the last meeting on the libguide here: http://senylrc.beta.libguides.com/SIGs/Instruction. Even if you couldn't attend either of the previous meetings, we encourage you to join us this time and meet your colleagues!
For SENYLRC members, there is no cost to register for this meeting.
Bring your own lunch, or share a group order from the deil (please bring cash!)
The Putnam County Historian’s Office recently joined SENYLRC as an HRVH member. Their goal is to collaborate with several local historical societies to build a shared collection to document the rich history of Putnam County. The Patterson Historical Society has contributed its first batch of historic postcards to the collection. Check back often as this collection will continue to grow! The Putnam County NY History Collections can be viewed here: http://www.hrvh.org/cdm/landingpage/collection/pchc
The Town of New Paltz is also a new HRVH member. Their inaugural contribution of 20 historic documents is available here: http://www.hrvh.org/cdm/landingpage/collection/nptr.
Additionally, they created an online exhibition titled Poverty in Early New Paltz. The exhibition “is a study of the history of poverty and social welfare in the town of New Paltz, New York. The 1805 Overseer of the Poor Ledger is included with additional documents dating from 1767-1827.” (quote is from the entry on the HRVH Exhibits page). The exhibition is available here: http://omeka.hrvh.org/exhibits/show/history-of-poverty-new-paltz.
The following HRVH Members’ collections are now discoverable in the Digital Public Library of America: Chester Historical Society, Cornwall Public Library, Hudson River Valley Institute and Palisades Interstate Park Commission. The DPLA is an aggregation of digitized cultural heritage resources from around the county. Check it out at http://dp.la!
The NY 3Rs Association, Inc. is pleased to announce it has changed its name to Empire State Library Network.
The new name – Empire State Library Network – better describes what the nine councils have been doing collaboratively since they collectively incorporated in 2003. Also, Empire State Library Network is a more meaningful name that better reflects what the organization is -- a network of library councils that service all of New York State.
Empire State Library Network coordinates several important statewide services, including Empire Library Delivery, New York State Historic Newspapers, New York Heritage, and Empire State Digital Network. Additionally, Empire State Library Network provides a wide range of continuing education and professional development opportunities for libraries of all kinds, and works on special collaborative projects through its I2NY Initiative.
The Board of Trustees of Southeastern NY Library Resources Council (SENYLRC) has opened the nomination period for this year’s award. This award is designed to recognize an outstanding member library, cultural heritage organization, program, service, or staff member.
The award is named in honor of Twila Snead, who was the Medical Library Manager at St. Luke’s Cornwall Hospital in Newburgh, NY for twenty years. Twila was recognized for her exemplary work as a committed, innovative, solo librarian and leader who served her own institution with distinction and generously shared her passion, knowledge and technological skills with colleagues and the wider library community. She was constantly learning, advocating for resources and services, developing her technological expertise, and thinking creatively about advocacy and outreach. Her demonstrated professional commitment, hard work, and dedication to continuous improvement established the framework that inspired this award for excellence in librarianship.
Please see the attached documents for more information about eligibility, criteria, and the nomination process.
More information at: http://senylrc.org/Twila_Snead
We have switched our mailing list over to Mail Chimp. In order make certain future mailings don't get bounced to your spam folder, you should "opt-in" to the newsletter mailing list.
You can confirm your subscription with this link: http://eepurl.com/byw_4D
Computers in Libraries 2016 registration is now open, and SENYLRC members are eligible to receive discounts!
Please send an email to email@example.com to get the link. The discount lowers the 3-day conference rate from $549 to $319 and the Library Leaders Digital Strategy Summit rate lowers from $749 to $599.
Hello from Jake and Alex at The Wikipedia Library!
Wikipedia is celebrating its 15th birthday this January 15th. We want to invite you to help us make it a big splash with a week-long, global campaign to engage our peers in the research, library, and cultural sectors all over the world.
We’re calling it #1Lib1Ref, and it’s a global “micro-contributions drive” with a simple but awesome goal:
For every librarian in the world to add one reference to any Wikipedia article
Using this viral, collaborative, crowdsourced approach, we hope to spark a conversation that highlights and explores the rich and evolving interactions between Wikipedia and library professionals.
That sea-change is already underway. As you have probably heard from us at The Wikipedia Library, Wikipedia is the largest hand-curated collection of annotated references in the world. Everyone starts their research on Wikipedia, from students to doctors, from casual researchers to research professionals. Professors incorporate editing into their classroom assignments and museums have both given to and borrowed from Wikipedia to remix their digital cultural heritage presence and make their content more discoverable. (See Understanding the Wikipedia-Library Connection for lots of stats, quotes, projects, papers, and case studies)
For this campaign to take off, we are looking to you as a leader in the community, and there are easy ways for to join in, help support Wikipedia, and spread the initiative among your networks.
Would you like to…?
All of our Partners who participate in these activities will have their organization listed on the main campaign page and get our hugely appreciative call-outs during our social media push leading up to and during the campaign.
We are also very happy to share resources, case studies, and useful language to help you talk about the campaign, while also encouraging you to add your own unique point of view.
Full details about the #1LibRef campaign page are live on MetaWiki: https://meta.wikimedia.org/wiki/The_Wikipedia_Library/1Lib1Ref
--The Wikipedia Library Team at the Wikimedia Foundation
Do you have a great idea for a program at the NYLA Annual Conference? Do you LOVE Saratoga Springs? Are you free November 2-5, 2016?
Then your time is now – to submit a conference proposal for consideration! A simple web-form will collect all the details needed for NYLA’s committee of conference programmers to evaluate your proposal.
https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/NYLA2016-Proposals Send in as many proposals as you like – the more the merrier!
The deadline to submit proposals for consideration for the 2016 NYLA Annual Conference is MONDAY January 11, 2016. The 2016 Annual Conference theme is: Strong. Strategic. Sustainable. Watch your inbox in early 2016 for an invitation to weigh-in on the conference program proposals – some of the 2016 programs will be chosen via crowd sourcing!
SENYLRC Matters is a group effort of input from SENYLRC's staff and is edited by Carolyn Bennett Glauda, Member Services Librarian for Education and Outreach.
Got news to share with the members? Email firstname.lastname@example.org at any time. New hires, retirements, projects, we want to hear from you!