Skip to main content

SENYLRC Matters July & August 2015: Volume 11, Issue 4

Volume 11, Issue 4

Welcome from Tessa Killian, SENYLRC's Executive Director

What’s in a newsletter?

This newsletter, SENYLRC Matters, is published bi-monthly, and it’s the primary channel we use to inform our membership and other interested people about council services. We include items such as professional development, programing, and exciting developments (see the item about HRVH newspapers below!)

Its other purpose is to cultivate community amongst members -- a place for you to share exciting news and developments with each other. When we hear about updates from you, it makes the publication stronger and more interesting. So please share with us exciting highlights from your library: new programs, webpages, exhibits, or programs open to the community. We also love people news: job promotions, or new positions. At any time, you can send news items to Carolyn Bennett Glauda (carolyn@senylrc.org) and she will include them in the next SENYLRC Matters. Finally, if you want more examples of how people in this area share their stores, the end of this issue features links to a selection of online newsletters and blogs from our 100+ members.

We'll say it one more time: as you are creating these great newsletters, please remember to share with them Southeastern and we will share your great work with your fellow members!

-Tessa Killian
Executive Director

Upcoming SENYLRC Events

See the newsletter below for the details and registrations, or our calendar on the left.

At a glance:

  • Friday, July 3: Council Offices Closed (Independence Day, Observed.)
  • Tuesday, July 7: RDA Lite
  • Monday, July 13: Practical RDA
  • Tuesday, July 14-Wednesday, July 15: Council Offices Closed for NY 3Rs Staff Event
  • Thursday, July 16: Board of Trustees Meeting
  • Thursday, July 16: Bibliographic Instruction SIG
  • Wednesday, July 29: eBooks: An Unconference
  • Wednesday, August 19: Incorporating Active Learning into Your Teaching

View for all announced SENYLRC events on our upcoming events webpage

What is happening at Southeastern?

New Board Member

Floyd Lattin

At the 2015 Annual Meeting on July 5, three Board of Trustees members started new terms. One of those trustees, Floyd Lattin, is starting his first year of service with Southeastern. You can learn more about him in his biography on the right.

Floyd Lattin's Bio

For the past 31 years, Floyd Lattin has been involved in the field of real estate finance, first at Bankers Trust Company (now Deutsche Bank) then at CS First Boston (now Credit Suisse) and currently as a Founding Principal of an investment management company that has sponsored a series of eight real estate private equity funds whose principal investors have been public and private pension funds and endowments.

Prior to this, he spent 10 years in the museum field, first as a curator in the Department of Egyptian Art at the Brooklyn Museum and then as an administrator at the Guggenheim Museum.

As a 27 year resident of the Hudson Valley, he has an abiding interest in the preservation of our region’s historic fabric and its open space. He hopes that his experience in the business and not-for-profit worlds will enable him to contribute to the efforts that the Board of Trustees and the Staff of SENYLRC have made to support member institutions.

RDA Classes

RDA Classes with Denise Garofalo

RDA Workshops for catalogers AND non-catalogers!

RDA Lite

‡ RDA Lite with Denise Garofalo

Date: Tuesday, July 7, 9:00am-12:00pm

Description:  RDA Lite is intended for public service staff who would like to better understand the changes they are seeing in their OPACs due to RDA, and to answer any questions they may have about RDA. Attendees are encouraged to bring any questions or issues with them to the session.

Registration at: www.senylrc.org/RDA_Lite

Practical RDA

‡ Practical RDA with Denise Garofalo

Date: Monday, July 13, 9:00am-12:00pm

Description:  Practical RDA is designed for copy catalogers or anyone who does some cataloging work and would like to learn more about RDA and how it affects them. Attendees are encouraged to bring items, questions, issues, or examples with them to share during the session.

Registration at: www.senylrc.org/Practical_RDA

Registration Information for both RDA classes

Location: SENYLRC Conference Room

Cost: (per class) $15 for members, including all NY3R’s members, $20 non-members

Your real-life questions and issues are welcome, and you may register

for either one or both workshops.

All participants will receive a certificate of completion for CE Credits

Praise for last year’s RDA Classes:

‡ “I feel I have a very good understanding of both FRBR and RDA now,
and can articulate the changes to the staff at our library.” – RDA Lite attendee

‡ “Denise was wonderful. I feel much more confident in my understanding of RDA
and how to apply it to my cataloging.” – Practical RDA attendee

Instruction Librarian SIG

Library Instruction SIG

Meet up with other SENYLRC member Instruction Librarians at Southeastern!

Registration Information

Date: Thursday, July 16
Time: 1:30pm-4:00pm
Location: SENYLRC
Facilitator: Stephanie Herfel Kinsler, SUNY Orange

Register here: http://senylrc.org/BI_SIG

Library Instruction SIG

The Bibliographic Library Instruction Special Interest Group (SIG) is composed of individuals interested in various aspects of library instruction. This will be the first official meeting of SENYLRC's BI SIG. The format of this SIG will be a guided group discussion. The group may decide on a topic in advance of the meeting, or during the meeting. One topic of interest right now is the Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. (This links to a LibGuide that is full of resources about the framework.)

From the guide: "The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) is currently in the process of revising the Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education to meet the current informational climate. This new Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education focuses on six threshold concepts, ideals to serve as 'passageways or portals to enlarged understanding or ways of thinking and practicing within that discipline.'"

What is the environment like at your institution? Are you implementing parts of the framework? Don't know where to begin? Have you adapted some parts, but not others? Participants should bring questions, ideas, best practices, and concerns and be prepared to meet colleagues from other instructions who share your same challenges.

For SENYLRC members, there is no cost to register for this meeting. 

eBooks Unconference

eBooks: An Unconference

Join us for a lively conversation about electronic media!

Unconference Details

eBooks: An Unconference

Guest Speaker: Jim Kropelin, EBSCO
Date: Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Time: 9:30am - 12:30am
Location: SENYLRC Conference Room
free for members, including all NY3R's members

More info and registration at: http://www.senylrc.org/eBooksUnconference

All participants will receive a certificate of completion for CE Credits

About Unconferences, AKA “open space:” Participants choose their own topics and time frames for discussions. The group meets together, and then breaks out into smaller discussion groups. Over the course of a few rounds, individuals can change groups to join in new conversations. At the end of the meeting, everyone re-groups to share ideas and comments.

All about the eBook Conversation

eBooks have been part of the library landscape for almost a decade now, but questions about the best way to incorporate them into the collection still abound. The event will start with a presentation by Jim Kropelin of EBSCO on eBook subscriptions and packages, and will continue as a conversation that will be guided by attendees.

Possible topics for the open space, or “unconference” include:

  • Problems and solutions with the discovery and access of eBooks.
  • Best practices for including eBooks in catalogs.
  • Let’s come to a consensus: eBooks, e-books, or ebooks. :)
  • Cooperative projects in the area that are currently underway.
  • Navigating the many platforms, access models, and pricing structures.
  • Ideas for convincing service providers to create a consistent product.
  • Sharing favorite tools for managing eBooks.
  • Any other idea that you would like to bring to the table on this topic!

Active Learning Class

Library Instruction

Brush up your instruction skills before the school year starts!

Active Learning with Brian Morgan

Incorporating Active Learning Into Your Teaching

Teacher: Brian Morgan, SUNY Geneseo
Date: Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Time: 9:00am-4:00pm*
Location: SENYLRC Conference Room
Cost: $20 for members, including all NY3R's members, $25 for non-members

More info and registration at: http://www.senylrc.org/ActiveLearning

*There will be a one-hour break to order lunch from the deli or BYO
All participants will receive a certificate of completion for CE Credits

About the Active Learning Class

Instruction is an increasingly common component of library work, and one that often has to be learned on the job. Librarians who have been tasked with teaching library users how to use resources will benefit from this workshop as we explore ways to incorporate active learning into library instruction. Register here: http://www.senylrc.org/ActiveLearning

Outcomes of this workshop will include:

  • Demonstrate confidence in innovative teaching methods
  • Creating new ways to creatively prepare and present classroom materials
  • Explore methods to approach interaction with students
  • Demonstrate and document the effectiveness of active learning techniques
  • Evaluate teaching and learning methods to select the best approach for given situations
  • Understand ways to increase student engagement and motivation

Brian Morgan, Assistant Professor at the Ella Cline Shear School of Education - SUNY Geneseo, will lead the workshop. He was a lead educator in the New York State Library Instruction Leadership Academy (LILAC) tour last summer and his work with the cohort at SENYLRC was very well received.  His education background and scholarship, paired with his close collaborations with librarians, gives him unique insights into our specific opportunities and challenges as educators.

HVVACC

Hudson Valley Visual Art Collections Consortium

The above image is called "Ashokan Dam." It is a1930 oil painting by Arnold Wiltz in the WAAM Permanent Collection. You can find it on HRVH here: http://www.hvvacc.org/cdm/singleitem/collection/waam/id/1959/rec/3

Press Release

The Dorsky Museum at SUNY New Paltz and four Ulster County partners launch searchable database of art collections

NEW PALTZ – The Samuel Dorsky Museum of Art at SUNY New Paltz, lead member of the Hudson Valley Visual Art Collections Consortium, announced on June 15 the launch of a web-accessible database that features images and information for more than 7,000 objects from the collections of The Dorsky and four other Ulster County visual arts organizations—the Center for Photography at Woodstock, Woodstock Artists Association and Museum, Woodstock Byrdcliffe Guild, and Women’s Studio Workshop.

The HVVACC website—www.hvvacc.org—is hosted by Southeastern New York Library Resources Council through the Hudson River Valley Heritage Web site, www.hrvh.org.

Dorsky Museum Director Sara Pasti said, “This project is the result of five years of work on the part of The Dorsky and its partners, each of which was required to create digital images of collection objects and to transfer data from existing stand-alone databases to a new web-based software program. The Dorsky and its partners are thrilled to launch a website will showcase their collections. The public is in for a treat.” 

“From the nineteenth century to the present, the Hudson Valley has been a cradle for artistic creation and innovation,” said Pasti. “The Hudson Valley was home to the Hudson River School painters, the first recognized school of American art. In the early 20th century, the Byrdcliffe Art Colony, now Woodstock Byrdcliffe Guild, and other Woodstock art organizations brought significant numbers of artists to Woodstock. The Center for Photography at Woodstock was one of the first organizations to recognize, support and collect photography as fine art.”  

The Woodstock Artists Association and Museum was developed to provide exhibition space for, and ultimately to collect, work by local artists. Women’s Studio Workshop, founded in 1974, has become the country’s largest publisher of artist hand-printed books. The Dorsky Museum was created to support and enrich the academic programs at the college, to present a broad range of national and international art for study and enjoyment, and to serve as a center for Hudson Valley arts and culture. The digitization project is a direct outgrowth of the Dorsky Museum’s mission to serve as a resource and cultural hub for the Hudson Valley region.

Twila Snead Award Winner

Press Release - Twila Snead Award Winner Announced

Southeastern NY Library Resources Council (SENYLRC) Announces 2015 Twila Snead Commitment to Excellence Award Winner

Winner: Rhonda L. Altonen

Highland, NY—June 5, 2015—At the 47th Annual Meeting of the Council, Southeastern NY Library Resources Council (SENYLRC) announced the winner of the second annual Twila Snead Award for Excellence, given to Rhonda L. Altonen, the Library Director at Barrytown College of UTS in Barrytown, NY. She was recognized for her work in revitalizing an old seminary library into a thriving collection for the undergraduate students. This included starting with a giant, unexpected mold remediation project following a hot, muggy summer. In addition, she worked to get the library equipped with systems and databases, set up classrooms, and created a thriving research environment for students.

“Rhonda’s position at UTS was unique. She was a solo librarian who had the skills and commitment to take a library and collection that was primarily for a graduate seminary program and recreated it as an undergraduate library. During her three years at UTS, Rhonda had a can-do attitude that embodied the enthusiasm for librarianship that reminded several of us of Twila,” said Tessa Killian, Executive Director of SENYLRC.

Of her work at the college, Rhonda remarked, “This was a sleeping library, full of wonderful memories and history, just waiting to be woken for a new day, refreshed and eager."

This award was established in 2014 to celebrate SENYLRC members who express leadership in the field of librarianship, create innovative services, develop programs that enhance the lives of those in underserved communities, provide unique services, and/or improve physical facilities. It is named in honor of a woman who embodied those qualities during twenty years of service at St Luke’s Cornwall Hospital Medical Library.

This year’s award committee felt that Rhonda’s work at the library embodied the spirit of Twila and was worthy of recognition by the council. Her name will be added to the plaque with last year’s winner and future winners, to be displayed in the SENYLRC conference room.

Photos from the Annual Meeting

Member Newsletters

News roundup from our membership

When we hear from you in our class evaluations, we have noticed a handful of requests from members for more information on newsletter writing. With that in mind, we thought you might be interested in seeing what your colleagues across the region are doing with their news. The following links are to a selected group of SENYLRC member newsletters and blogs. (The newsletters are links on the left, and the blogs are in RSS feeds, featuring the most recent post.)

If we missed yours and you would like it included on this list, please send an email to Carolyn.

Mid-Hudson Library System

Tuxedo Park Library

Orangetown Historical Musuem Archives

Finkelstein Memorial Library

Stone Ridge Library

Rhinebeck Historical Society

Middletown Thrall Library

West Hurley Public Library

Marist College Library

Astor Services for Children and Family

SUNY Orange

Chatham Public Library

Rockland SLS

SUNY New Paltz - Sojourner Truth Library

Museum Village

Loading ...

Ulster BOCES School Library System

Loading ...

Pawling Free Library

Newburgh Free Library

Loading ...

Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum

Loading ...

Sullivan Community College

Loading ...

United States Military Academy Library

Loading ...

Vassar College Library

Loading ...

Did You Know?

...that SENYLRC has a really active Twitter Feed?

...that HRVH News is all new?

Take a moment to browse through the all new HRVH Historical Newspapers website!

What you will find there is a brand-new interface that allows for seriously in-depth searching. If you are feeling so inclined, you can sign up for a *free* account. That will allow you to save your searches, mail search lists to others and most fun o all - partake in text correcting! Can you get yourself on to the HRVH hall of fame while making our OCR better?

...about the toolkit discount?

Discounted access to the RDA Toolkit is again available through a NY 3R's arrangement.

SIGN UP HERE for access.

The member discount is 17%, and you must sign up by July 15, 2015

Credits

SENYLRC Matters is a group effort of input from SENYLRC's staff and is edited by Carolyn Bennett Glauda, Member Services Librarian for Education and Outreach.

Got news to share with the members? Email carolyn@senylrc.org at any time. New hires, retirements, projects, we want to hear from you!

Southeastern NY Library Resources Council
21 South Elting Corners Road | Highland, NY 12528
Phone: (845) 883-9065
www.senylrc.org