Skip to main content

SENYLRC Matters March & April 2016: Volume 12, Issue 2

Volume 12, Issue 2

Welcome from Tessa Killian, SENYLRC's Executive Director

SENYLRC is planning for the future and we need your help. You are the beneficiary of our programs and services, and we have a survey to solicit your opinion on how these services are meeting your needs. The goal of this survey is to gather information for a strategic plan and get input from the membership that will be essential for the planning process.

In order to better serve SENYLRC’s members, as well as your library patrons and users, we need your input on a variety of topics. Your response to this survey will assist us plan the future of SENYLRC and the services we provide to your library, archive, or cultural heritage institution.

The survey is being conducted by Library Strategies Consulting Group (LSCG) and all responses will be directed to them. Individual responses are confidential, with only aggregate responses reported to SENYLRC.

Please take the survey by clicking on this link: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/SENYLRCMember 
The survey consists of 20 questions and should take 10 to 15 minutes to complete. The deadline for responding to the survey is March 31, 2016.

You can also help us by forwarding the survey link to other staff or board members at your organization who benefit from SENYLRC's services and resources. 
Thank you for taking the time to assist SENYLRC!

Regards,
Tessa Killian, Executive Director 

Upcoming SENYLRC Events

See the newsletter below for the details and registrations, or our calendar on the right.

At a glance:

  • Tuesday, March 29: HRVH Training #1
  • Wednesday, March 30: Patron-Driven Weeding Webinar
  • Friday, April 1: BIBFRAME Basics
  • Tuesday, April 5: HRVH Training #2
  • Tuesday, April 12: HRVH Training #3
  • Friday, April 15: SENY-Con 2016
  • Wednesday, April 20: HRVH Training #4
  • Tuesday, April 26: Marketing 101
  • Friday, April 29: Cataloging SIG
  • Monday, May 16: High School to College Transition SIG
  • Tuesday, May 17: HLSP Marketing Class
  • Friday, June 3: The 49th Annual Meeting of the Council

View for all announced SENYLRC events on our upcoming events webpage

What is happening at Southeastern?

SENY-CON!

First Annual SENY-CON (A SENYLRC Member Conference)

There are only a few spaces left at our first annual SENY-Con!

Details for registrants

SENY-Con 2016

Friday, April 15, 2016
9:00am - 4:30pm
Featuring: SENYLRC members
Free for SENYLRC Members!

More info and registration at: http://www.senylrc.org/SENYCon2016

SENY-Con is a brand new conference to highlight the unique talents and skills that SENYLRC members possess. This event is made possible due to an outpouring of enthusiasm from our members, and we hope you can join us!

  • SENYLRC Members: FREE
  • SENYLRC Members with catered lunch: $10
  • Non-members: $10
  • Non-members with catered lunch: $20

The slate of presenters:

Register here: http://www.senylrc.org/SENYCon2016

(if registration is FULL, please email Carolyn - carolyn@senylrc.org to be added to the wait list.)

8:30am – 9:00am Registration, coffee, snacks

morning sessions:

  • Using LibGuides as a Staff Intranet - Jerry Kuntz, Ramapo Catskill Library System
  • Facilitating Communication through a Shared Calendar - Gina Shelton, Dominican College
  • Read a Zine, Then Make One - Repeat: The Zine Library as a Point of Convergence between Communities and Collections - Lydia Willoughby, SUNY New Paltz & Madeline Veitch, SUNY New Paltz
  •  NYLA Sustainability Initiative - Claudia Depkin, Haverstraw King’s Daughters Public Library & Casey Conlin, Pawling Free Library
  • An Exploration of Digital History with Undergraduates: The W.S. Teator Project  - Heidi Knoblauch, Bard College, Nora Cady, Bard College, Madi Garvin, Bard College, Alexis Williams, Bard College, Noah Segal-Gould

12:30 – 1:30: Lunch & Poster Presentations

afternoon sessions:

  • Outreach & Marketing through a “Pop-up Library" - Gina Shelton, Dominican College, Ellie Horowitz, Dominican College
  • Your Library As Art: Using a Gallery Walk for User Experience Assessment - Stephan J. Macaluso, SUNY New Paltz
  • #selfie: Promoting Serious Library Items in a Fun and Interactive Manner - Jen Park, Mount Saint Mary College
  • Ghosts in the Library: A Collaborative Approach to Student Learning with Game-Based Pedagogy - Lydia Willoughby, SUNY New Paltz, Mandy Babirad, SUNY New Paltz, Heather Shimon, SUNY New Paltz​

Poster presentations:

  • Guardians of the Information Galaxy: Lessons Learned with iMovie - Karen Shea, West Point Military Academy Library
  • Researching Shawangunk Mountain Cultural History - Anna Herscher, SUNY Empire State College

2016 Twila Snead Award

The 2016 Twila Snead Award for Excellence

Nominations for the 2016 Twila Snead Award are due on April 8! We encourage you to think about an individual, library, or library program that is deserving of recognition for their work.

Nomination Forms

Criteria & Eligibility

The Board of Trustees of Southeastern NY Library Resources Council (SENYLRC) has opened the nomination period for this year’s award. This award is designed to recognize an outstanding member library, cultural heritage organization, program, service, or staff member.

The award is named in honor of Twila Snead, who was the Medical Library Manager at St. Luke’s Cornwall Hospital in Newburgh, NY for twenty years. Twila was recognized for her exemplary work as a committed, innovative, solo librarian and leader who served her own institution with distinction and generously shared her passion, knowledge and technological skills with colleagues and the wider library community. She was constantly learning, advocating for resources and services, developing her technological expertise, and thinking creatively about advocacy and outreach. Her demonstrated professional commitment, hard work, and dedication to continuous improvement established the framework that inspired this award for excellence in librarianship.

Please see the attached documents for more information about eligibility, criteria, and the nomination process.

  • Nominations will be accepted until April 8, 2016.
  • The SENYLRC Award Recognition Committee will notify the award winner in mid-May. The presentation of the award will be at the SENYLRC Annual meeting.

More information at: http://senylrc.org/Twila_Snead

Weeding Webinar

Patron-Driven Weeding

You've done PDA, what about PDW?

Details on the Webinar

Patron-Driven Weeding as Engagement and Collection Management

Presenters: Kristin Hart & Rebecca Hyams, SUNY Maritime
Date: Wednesday, March 30, 2016
Time: 11:00am - 12:00pm
Location: Your Computer
Free for members!

More info and registration at: https://www.esln.org/events/webinar-patron-driven-weeding/​

What will be covered in the presentation

Register here: https://www.esln.org/events/webinar-patron-driven-weeding/​

a tale of two (unrelated?) problems:

In Fall 2015, the librarians at SUNY Maritime faced two seemingly unrelated problems: uncertainty over how to engage students in Information Literacy sessions, and a woefully outdated circulating collection that repelled many who tried to use it.

They decided first to address both problems together, asking new students to play a part in the weeding process. Freshman students were asked to compete to find the “strangest, weirdest, oldest book” in the stacks during their library orientation sessions. Even with minimal instruction, the students weeded proficiently; just as importantly, the activity generated spontaneous conversations about the nature of information. As a follow-up in the Spring semester, the librarians scaled up the “PDW” project by asking faculty to help with the weeding in their respective subject areas.

We will look at several aspects of our crowdsourced weeding experience, including the differences in how students and faculty selected items. While the items students selected inadvertently used many of the same criteria librarians would typically use, did the faculty take a different approach? What are the pitfalls in asking users to contribute in weeding? Did getting the community involved help foster more connectedness to the library?

HRVH

New with HRVH

HRVH members who are new, have new staff, or could use a refresher on the service are welcome to join us for the upcoming HRVH training sessions this March & April. Please see the information below for more details.

New collections in Digital Public Library of America! We are very happy to let you know that the following HRVH collections are now in dp.la:

  • Woodstock Public Library District: bit.ly/1U1n2oq

Library Association of Rockland County:

In other new news: we printed new HRVH promotional materials! These bookmarks are available to members so that you may pass them out to users. These are in stock now, so if you would like extra copies, please contact us and we will send them out to you. 

HRVH Training

Digitization Basics for Hudson River Valley Heritage: A Workshop Series Required for Contributors to HRVH

Dates: Tuesday, March 29,
Tuesday, April 5,
Tuesday, April 12 & 
Wednesday, April 20

Time: 10am - 4pm

This workshop series, presented by Southeastern NY Library Resources Council (SENYLRC) staff, is designed to provide you with the basic skills necessary to participate in HRVH: management, copyright, digital imaging, metadata and CONTENTdm (software application). The goal is to develop staff with the expertise to create and maintain digital collections, on their own, with the assistance of SENYLRC staff. This workshop series is intended for staff members at libraries and cultural heritage organizations that are ready to embark on digital projects.

Organizations that currently contribute to HRVH are encouraged to send new staff members to the training or attend again if they need a refresher on any of the topics covered in the workshops.

The scope of your project and your workflow will determine the time commitment necessary to digitize. While this work will be accomplished outside the workshop time, SENYLRC staff will monitor the progress and make site visits for hands-on assistance at participating organizations.

Register here, and for complete information about the series, see: http://www.hrvh.org/hrvhtraining

NEW HRVH Bookmark Front

NEW HRVH Bookmark Reverse

BIBFRAME Class

BIBFRAME Basics

Be in the know about the new standard on the horizon.

Details for registrants

BIBFRAME Basics

Presenter: Amber Billey
Date: Friday, April 1, 2016
Time: 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Location: SENYLRC Conference Room
$15 for members, $20 for non-members

More info and registration at: http://www.senylrc.org/BIBFRAME

What will be covered in the presentation

Register here: http://www.senylrc.org/BIBFRAME

The Library of Congress with partnering institutions are working to create a new cataloging standard to replace MARC. Known as BIBFRAME, this new standard leverages Linked Data models to enable library collection metadata to integrate and contribute more easily to the Web. Learn the basics of BIBFRAME in this entertaining session that will cover the theory and practice of this new and evolving cataloging standard.

Topics include: Foundations of Linked Data and the Semantic Web, BIBFRAME development history, BIBFRAME model and vocabulary, and BIBFRAME testing and implementation.

Gain hands-on experience creating Linked Data, transforming MARC into BIBFRAME, and creating original “records” using the BIBFRAME Editor. 

Marketing 101

Marketing 101

Make better marketing materials that speak to your audience!

Details for registrants

Marketing 101: Tips and Tools for the beginning library marketer

Presenters: Tiffany Davis & Jen Park, Mount Saint Mary College
Date: Tuesday, April 26, 2016
Time: 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Location: SENYLRC Conference Room
$10 for members, $15 for non-members

More info and registration at: http://www.senylrc.org/Marketing 101

All participants will receive a certificate for CE credits

What will be covered in the presentation

Register here: http://www.senylrc.org/Marketing101

Have you recently found yourself with marketing duties and are at a loss as to where to begin? Do you want more information about how to create and understand the importance of marketing materials? This class will cover beginner marketing tools and materials for creating and implementing a successful marketing plan. Specific areas covered will be: basic marketing strategies and the importance of purposeful marketing, resources to create marketing promotional materials, and basic design strategies. Attendees should bring one piece of marketing material to work with as a base project.

About the presenters:

Tiffany Davis is an Instruction Services librarian at Mount Saint Mary College. Although her main position focuses on instruction and personal librarian services, Tiffany understands the campus community and how to market to them properly. She is always on the lookout for best teaching/assessment practices and has recently completed the Immersion Assessment program.  

Jen Park is the Access and Outreach Services librarian at Mount Saint Mary College. In addition to overseeing Outreach Services, she creates promotional materials for library programs as well as look for new and exciting ways to promote the library’s services through new software or partnerships in and around the campus.

High School to College Transition

High School to College Transition SIG

A unique opportunity for high school and college librarians in the Hudson Valley to meet with each other.

Details for registrants

High School to College Transition Special Interest Group

Presenter: Rebecca Gerald, Coordinator, School Library System, Dutchess BOCES
Date: Monday, May 16, 2016
Time: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Location: SENYLRC Conference Room
free for SENYLRC members and members of BOCES School Library Systems

More info and registration at: http://www.senylrc.org/HS2CollegeSIG

What will be covered in the presentation

Register here: http://www.senylrc.org/HS2CollegeSIG

We invite you to join us for our brand new SIG - High School to College Transition, a group focused on letting high school and college librarians share their experiences with each other. The goal of this group is to help high school librarians prepare students for college, and for academic librarians to gain a better idea of where students are coming from and how they can help.

Through conversation, this SIG will work to ease students’ transition between high school and college. The agenda will be set by the group. Topics of discussion could include college readiness, the first-year college experience, and enhancing critical thinking, and working with college programs in the high school.

Catalogers SIG

Catalogers Special Interest Group

Meet up with other SENYLRC member Catalogers at Southeastern!

Registration Information

Date: Friday, April 29, 2016
Time: 9:30am - 12:30pm
Location: SENYLRC
Facilitator: Denise Garofalo, Mount Saint Mary College

http://www.senylrc.org/Cataloging_SIG2

Catalogers SIG

This gathering will serve as a forum for discussing changes in the cataloging landscape around RDA, new discovery tools, and shifting workflows. Bring your ideas, cataloging conundrums, and any other topics you might like to discuss. The agenda will be set by the event registrants at the start of the meeting, and will be guided by group discussion. 

Southeastern NY Library Resources Council (SENYLRC) sponsors an array of Special Interest Groups (SIGs) where members can join with others in the library community to exchange ideas and keep themselves informed about their professional specialties. Special Interest Groups play a vital role in SENYLRC's networking and professional development programs.

You can view the details of the previous Cataloging SIG on our SIG Libguide here.

Use this news!

Advocacy Bill

In recent months, we at SENYLRC have been meeting with elected officials to promote the importance of our members and let legislators know about upcoming bills. One of the 2016 NYLA Legislative and Budgetary Priorities is a bill called "Taxpayer Access to Publicly-Funded Research," which prevents double-taxation on research. The bill's details are below, along with a link to the bill's text as it stands in the Senate and the Assembly. We encourage you to reach out to your elected officials and ask them to support this bill! You can use this handy tool to find contact information for legislators in your area: http://capwiz.com/ala/ny/directory/statedir.tt?state=NY&lvl=state

Taxpayer Access to Publicly-Funded Research

S.3952 Farley / A.1878 Hevesi

Background

  1. This legislation requires New York State funded research published in peer‐reviewed journals be made available online by the state agencies that underwrite such research. This bill would bring NYS in line with the federal standards employed by the National Institute of Health and the State of California.
  2. Currently, when publically-funded research is published in peer-reviewed journals, libraries must expend public dollars for public and scholarly access.

Impact

  1. This bill would eliminate an area of double taxation by making taxpayer-funded scholarly research available after one year. Currently, private companies force libraries to expend tax dollars for access to research that has already been publicly-funded. This standard would follow the federal model.

Employment Opportunities on the SENYLRC Job Board

We frequently post jobs that are open in the region. If you haven't visited lately, check out the Employment Page on our website. And if you know of an open position from Intern to Director, please email it to us at jobposting@senylc.org, and we will be happy to post it for you!

Between newsletters, catch up with us on Twitter!

Member Newsletters

News roundup from our membership

When we hear from you in our class evaluations, we have noticed a handful of requests from members for more information on newsletter writing. With that in mind, we thought you might be interested in seeing what your colleagues across the region are doing with their news. The following links are to a selected group of SENYLRC member newsletters and blogs. (The newsletters are links on the left, and the blogs are in RSS feeds, featuring the most recent post.)

If we missed yours and you would like it included on this list, please send an email to Moshe.

Mid-Hudson Library System

Finkelstein Memorial Library

Stone Ridge Library

Middletown Thrall Library

Tuxedo Park Library

Newburgh Free Library

Sullivan County Community College

Orangetown Historical Museum Archives

Rhinebeck Historical Society

Rockland County BOCES School Library System

Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum

Loading ...

United States Military Academy Library

Loading ...

Vassar College Library

Loading ...

Renew your newsletter subscription here

Mail Chimp Sign-up list

Don't miss an issue of SENYRLC Matters!

We have switched our mailing list over to Mail Chimp. In order make certain future mailings don't get bounced to your spam folder, you should "opt-in" to the newsletter mailing list.

You can confirm your subscription with this link: http://eepurl.com/byw_4D

Credits

SENYLRC Matters is a group effort of input from SENYLRC's staff and is edited by Carolyn Bennett Glauda, Member Services Librarian for Education and Outreach.

Got news to share with the members? Email carolyn@senylrc.org at any time. New hires, retirements, projects, we want to hear from you!

Southeastern NY Library Resources Council
21 South Elting Corners Road | Highland, NY 12528
Phone: (845) 883-9065
www.senylrc.org