The 50th Annual Meeting of the Council will be on Friday, June 2, 2017 at SUNY New Paltz. The theme of this year's meeting is "celebrating the accomplishments of our members." We are offering two opportunities to share your accomplishments. First, you are invited to present at this event to bring attention to your institution's achievements and successes. And, second, nominations are open for the 4th Twila Snead Award for Excellence.
Please consider giving a presentation at the Annual Meeting to highlight your history, a signature program, or a notable achievement by you and your staff. Presentations can be in the form of posters or any portable visual aid. This is a unique opportunity to share your story as well as learn about other libraries, archives, cultural heritage institutions, and special collections in the Hudson Valley.
What kinds of content are we looking for? Here are some questions to get you thinking:
Your presentation can be as simple or as dynamic as you would like it to be. Please use this form to submit your presentation ideas. Individuals who present will be offered a discounted rate for lunch.
Nominations for the 4th Annual Twila Snead Award for Excellence are open, please see the article below for full details. The award honors an individual or an organization that demonstrates leadership of a new or enhanced service model, improvements in physical facilities that result in better service, creation of programs that enhance the experiences of constituents or for a program that helps under-served communities. We need your help to identify unique, special and excellent people and programs who would be deserving of this honor.
Tessa Killian, Executive Director
Keep scrolling down the newsletter for details on each of these events!.
At a glance:
View for all announced Southeastern events on our upcoming events webpage
Friday, April 21, 2017
9am - 5pm
Featuring: Southeastern's members
Free for Southeastern Members!
More info and registration:
SENY-Con is a conference that highlights the unique talents and skills that SENYLRC members possess. This event is made possible due to an outpouring of enthusiasm from our members, and we hope you can join us!
Register here: https://senylrc.regfox.com/seny-con
8:30am - 9:00am: Registration, coffee, snacks
1:00pm - 5:00pm: Afternoon Sessions:
Presenters: Eric Roth, Mohonk Preserve & Sarah Imboden, Franklin D. Roosevelt Library
Date: Friday, March 31, 2017
Time: 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Location: Southeastern Conference Room
$25 for members, $30 for non-members
More info and registration at: http://www.senylrc.org/GrantWorkshop
This workshop is for anyone who is seeking grant money for programmatic funding. The workshop will provide useful information regarding ways to successfully implement a grant including:
The cost for the workshop is $25 for members, including members of other ESLN councils, and $30 for non-members
All attendees will receive a certificate for CE credit
Presenter: Davis Erin Anderson, METRO
Two dates and locations!
Date: Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Time: 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Location: Southeastern Conference Room
Date: Tuesday, June 13, 2017
Time: 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Location: Mid-Hudson Library System
Librarians and teachers are key to promoting information literacy as a vital 21st Century skill and helping to develop critical thinkers. In this class, we'll discuss key information literacy concepts, share the teaching activities already at play in your library, and create new activities to help reinforce the concepts for your users and patrons. This training will help you meet the growing need of the diverse audience using today’s online resources.
This class will also introduce Mozilla’s Web Literacy Framework, which was designed “To help people become good citizens of the web, …[focusing] on the following goals: 1) develop more educators, advocates, and community leaders who can leverage and advance the web as an open and public resource, and 2) impact policies and practices to ensure the web remains a healthy open and public resource for all.”
This introductory class is appropriate for public & academic librarians, teachers, and any educator who promotes information literacy.
Davis Erin Anderson is Community Engagement Manager at Metropolitan New York Library Council. An SLA Rising Star and a 2012 Library Journal Mover & Shaker, Davis leads workshops on web literacy, digital fluency, and building community as an individual or as an organization. Along with Ray Pun, she is an editor of and author in Career Transitions for Librarians: Proven Strategies for Finding Work in Another Type of Library, published by Rowman Littlefield in 2016.
All participants will be given a certificate for CE Credit. Southeastern is a certified sponsor of CTLE credit from the New York State Education Department.
Cost: $25 for members, including ESLN members, and organizations in the region affiliated with members, $30 for out-of-state
Presenter: Jennifer Kegler, SUNY Brockport
Date: Monday, April 7, 2017
Time: 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Location: SENYLRC Conference Room
$25 for members, $35 for non-members
More info and registration at: http://www.senylrc.org/GettingPublished
You are invited to the next Southeastern Social Event!
It's a social and networking outing for Southeastern members! Join us this St. Patrick's Day for a get-together featuring light refreshments, networking, tours of the museum, and a presentation on digitization projects from Hudson River Maritime Museum!
4:00pm - 6:30pm
The three previous Twila Snead Award For Excellence winners were selected because of their exceptional and exciting projects and service to their institutions. The award has been presented to:
Consider nominating your institution, yourself or a colleague for the Twila Snead Award. There are shining stars among our membership that deserve recognition! This, as well as the Annual Meeting presentations, are opportunities to acknowledge the good work you do as we celebrate both you and 50 years of Southeastern.
If you have any questions about the award or the presentations, please email Tessa or Carolyn.
The Board of Trustees of Southeastern NY Library Resources Council (SENYLRC) has opened the nomination period for this year’s award. This award is designed to recognize an outstanding member library, cultural heritage organization, program, service, or staff member.
The award is named in honor of Twila Snead, who was the Medical Library Manager at St. Luke’s Cornwall Hospital in Newburgh, NY for twenty years. Twila was recognized for her exemplary work as a committed, innovative, solo librarian and leader who served her own institution with distinction and generously shared her passion, knowledge and technological skills with colleagues and the wider library community. She was constantly learning, advocating for resources and services, developing her technological expertise, and thinking creatively about advocacy and outreach. Her demonstrated professional commitment, hard work, and dedication to continuous improvement established the framework that inspired this award for excellence in librarianship.
Please see the links below for information about eligibility, criteria, and the nomination process.
More information at: http://senylrc.org/Twila_Snead
New York State's history is rich, varied, and intriguing; those who are interested in exploring aspects of our state's heritage are invited to take part in a unique competition.
Empire State Library Network is pleased to initiate its second annual Researching the Empire State Writing Competition.
The purpose of the Researching the Empire State Writing Competition is to encourage original research and publication around cultural, social, and political topics of New York history utilizing the digital collections developed by the Empire State Library Network: NYS Historic Newspapers and New York Heritage, as well as by use of New York’s many other scholarly resources.
The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York’s unique history. It currently consists of approximately 6.6 million pages of newspapers published in New York State.
NewYorkHeritage project is a research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and everyone else interested the people, places and institutions of historical New York State. The site provides immediate, free access to digital collections that reflect New York State’s extraordinary history.
Empire State Library Network is partnering with the New York Archives Conference in developing this competition.
Submittals must represent original, primary research concerning historical events, persons, institutions, or organizations from within New York State. Submittals must be no less than 2,000 words, and no more than 20,000 words. Previously published research is not eligible.
There will be one award, consisting of a certificate, publication on the Empire State Library Network web site, and a $1,000 cash prize. The winner will also be awarded registration to the New York State Archives Conference in Utica, NY in June 2017, and will be invited to present their research at that venue.
Submittals must be digital, double-spaced, and will not be returned. Submittals must include the researcher’s name, address, and telephone number. Each submittal must have a title. Illustrations are permitted, as are oral history resources. Citations and bibliographies must follow standard style guides.
Judging Criteria: (In order)
A panel of experts will judge the submittals based on the above criteria.
All entries must be received by 5 pm, April 14, 2017.
Researching the Empire State Writing Competition entries should be in Microsoft Word or PDF format, and emailed to: firstname.lastname@example.org.
About the Empire State Library Network: ESLN is a cooperative enterprise of New York’s nine reference and research resources councils. Its mission is to enhance collaboration and resource sharing among libraries and cultural organizations in New York State.
About the New York Archives Conference: The New York Archives Conference is an organization that annually brings together archivists, manuscript curators, local historians, and local government record keepers to discuss issues of mutual concern to professional holders of historical records. It is an ideal organization for individuals new to the profession to learn from colleagues and to become involved in professional activities. For more information, go to http://www.nyarchivists.org/nyac/
Find out more about this competition and last year's winner here:
On the outside, The Cube looks like piece of abstract sculpture, or something from the set of Doctor Who. On the inside, it’s a recording booth. The Sound and Story Project of the Hudson Valley commissioned its design and construction from the visionary architect Hugo Martinez and for the past few years has recorded hundreds of interviews at libraries, museums and universities. It’s a real attention getter. We’re moving on to other projects, looking for another organization who could make use of The Cube, giving priority to non-profits from our area. We’d prefer it to be a sale at a very affordable price and/or a donation. For more details, contact Eileen McAdam at email@example.com.
Discounts are available for Southeastern members by using the code "SEN17" You can also get the discount by using the following link to register:
Please register at http://www.waldolib.org/eventreg041817.htm
Additional information about RedLink
Redlink - https://redlink.com/
RedLink's Library Dashboard provides a complete and easy-to-use overview of journal, e-Book, and database usage and turn-away statistics to help with decision-making and budgeting, helping you determine cost-per-article and facilitating publisher and product-level usage analysis with data visualization tools This product is offered to libraries with a one-time setup fee and a simple annual subscription, independent of number of users or of data sources.
• Integrate and organize data from dozens of sources covering journals, databases, ebooks, and bundles, all in one place so you and your staff can make more informed spending and collection decisions.
• Redlink will fetch your data and present it to you in a sensible, simple interface. No more digging through COUNTER reports to tease out anomalies or trends. See them quickly and without the hard work.
• Quickly learn what your patrons and faculty actually use, and spend your limited budget for books and journals based on data.
• Deal proactively with problems, see trends as they unfold, and plan more easily based on intuitive data displays and standardized data.
APA Style Central - http://www.apastyle.org/products/asc-landing-page.aspx
Designed to help users develop their writing and professional research skills, APA Style CENTRAL combines sophisticated learning and teaching tools, advanced writing and content management technology, and full integration of APA's best-selling Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association® to create an unparalleled web-based suite of integrated services and tools. All of the tools within APA Style CENTRAL have been created by a team of APA Style experts, which assures users and instructors a level of accuracy, consistency, and confidence not available from any other source.
It focuses on the application and proper use of APA Style, the leading writing style for the behavioral sciences and many other disciplines. It serves students who are new to academic writing and APA Style, as well as those who are more advanced in their academic careers but need to reinforce their understanding of APA Style rules. It provides learning and assessment resources for instructors and components for researchers who are actively publishing.
CALL FOR LIGHTNING ROUND AND POSTER SESSION PRESENTERS
The Eastern New York Chapter of ACRL invites presenters for Lightning Rounds and Poster Sessions at its Spring Conference which will be held Tuesday, May 23, 2017 at Siena College in Loudonville, NY. This year’s conference theme, Hiding in Plain Sight, explores the ways in which libraries and librarians are working to bring to light all of the important work that we do.
Presentations are limited to 5 minutes! Share a quick overview of your ideas, experiences, and programs related to the conference theme, research support, services, projects, community relationships, outreach, what works, what doesn’t, etc.
Poster sessions are an excellent opportunity to share your ideas, research findings, projects, solutions to problems, or best practices. Posters will be on display throughout the day and presenters must be available to discuss their topics for at least one thirty-minute time slot.
Proposals should include:
· Presenter's name and position title (if more than one presenter, choose one person to be the contact);
· Contact information (phone number, email, and mailing address);
· Presentation title;
· Technology, electricity, and space needs;
· Summary description of 250 words or less;
Send Lightning Round proposals to:
Lindsay Van Berkom
Send Poster Session proposals to:
Deadline for proposals is Monday March 13, 2017. Proposals received after this date may be considered if there is still space available for participation. Presenters will be notified of acceptance by Friday, March 17, 2017.
We look forward to seeing you in the spring!
Reading our class evaluations, we have noticed a handful of requests from members for more information on newsletter writing. With that in mind, we thought you might be interested in seeing what your colleagues across the region are doing with their news. The following links are to a selected group of SENYLRC member newsletters and blogs. (The newsletters are links on the left, and the blogs are in RSS feeds, featuring the most recent post.)
If we missed yours and you would like it included on this list, please send an email to Moshe.
We have switched our mailing list over to Mail Chimp. In order make certain future mailings don't get bounced to your spam folder, you should "opt-in" to the newsletter mailing list.
You can confirm your subscription with this link: http://eepurl.com/byw_4D
SENYLRC Matters is a group effort of input from SENYLRC's staff and is edited by Carolyn Bennett Glauda, Member Services Librarian for Education and Outreach.
Got news to share with the members? Email firstname.lastname@example.org at any time. New hires, retirements, projects, we want to hear from you!
Southeastern, in conjunction with Dutchess & Ulster BOCES, present a new workshop series so that teachers and librarians become fluent with tools to help high school students transition to college research.
These Information literacy and research proficiency workshops will introduce educators to a wide range of free teaching and learning resources for practical use in the 21st century classroom. The classes will be taught by college and school librarians to provide educators with a solid foundation for teaching research techniques that are necessary for their students’ future.
These workshops will take place over three days. Attendees can come to one, two, or all three of the classes.
8/14/2017 Information Literacy:
Using Google, Wikipedia, and online search effectively, website evaluation, copyright, understanding plagiarism, citing sources, and how to incorporate ACRL framework & Empire State Information Fluency Continuum.
8/15/2017 Research Proficiency:
What is expected in a current college research assignment, how to create good research questions, time management, achieving an understanding of how incorporate the library’s catalog, databases, and lesser-known services into effective research. This class will be held at the Mount Saint Mary College Library in Newburgh, NY and will cover skills that you can apply to your own school’s library and other academic libraries in the Hudson Valley.
8/16/2017 Archival Resources in the Hudson Valley:
Learn about the network of local primary sources, many of which are unique to our region. You will learn about how use archives and government resources in school projects and how to incorporate websites like Hudson River Valley Heritage into lesson plans.
The workshops will include ongoing work on an annotated bibliography of resources that attendees can use in support of an instructional unit or objective.
Apply here: senylrc.org/MediaLiteracies
Southeastern NY Library Resources Council is a certified sponsor of CTLE credit through the New York State Department of Education. Each class is 6 hours.
Three days of workshops on how to incorporate library media into high school curriculum. The course will cover ways to use local resources to help high school students prepare for college-level research.
Any 9th-12th grade educator who assigns research projects and will be teaching in the 2017-2018 school year.
When & Where?
Classes are $30 each, or $75 for the entire series. Lunch is included.
Contact Carolyn Bennett Glauda: email@example.com