Southeastern’s 49th Annual Meeting takes place on June 3, 2016 at the Culinary Institute of America, Hyde Park, NY.
The meeting is in the Marriott Pavilion, where you can see a mural featuring the work of 16th century Italian artist, Giuseppe Arcimboldo (as seen here on the right), and conclude your day with Italian cuisine at the Ristorante Caterina De' Medici!
The keynote speaker at this year’s meeting is Maxine Bleiweis, a retired librarian, now consultant. Maxine will talk about her unique perspective on leadership and how she cut through barriers and ceilings she didn’t even know existed. Maxine envisions libraries to be “part Apple Genius Bar, part MIT Lab, and part Chautauqua.”
We invited her so you could hear the perspective of an innovative library leader who Connecticut’s governor, Dannel Malloy said, “has transformed the library from a place to borrow books into a hub of community activity.”
In addition to the keynote, the networking, and the great breakfast and lunch, you also have an option to enjoy a very unique campus tour. The CIA campus tour visits the spaces on campus where you can see students working in the kitchens and working classrooms.
I hope to see you there! - Remember, register by May 20, the event is almost full!
Tessa Killian, Executive Director
See the newsletter below for the details and registrations, or our calendar on the right.
At a glance:
View for all announced SENYLRC events on our upcoming events webpage
Schedule of events:
This event is partially subsidized by SENYLRC and our sponsors:
RSVP by Friday, May 20
Location: SENYLRC Conference Room
About Shannon Mersand & Sheri McNair:
Shannon Mersand is a School Media Specialist and Instructional Technologist who offers a variety of Professional Development opportunities. She is an inspirational educator who works with school's to increase students engagement and achievement by effectively utilizing technology in the classroom.
Sheri McNair is the head of library services for her district, overseeing the library curriculum instruction grades K-12. In addition to teaching information literacy and technology integration at the high school, she also serves on the district’s technology team and the inquiry facilitation team. She has taught many technology integration/social media professional development classes to teachers and fellow librarians, and is in the process of transforming the existing traditional high school library space into a 21st Century Learning Commons.
All participants will receive a certificate of completion for CE Credits
Presenter: Rebecca Gerald, Coordinator, School Library System, Dutchess BOCES
Date: Monday, May 16, 2016
Time: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Location: SENYLRC Conference Room
free for SENYLRC members and members of BOCES School Library Systems
More info and registration at: http://www.senylrc.org/HS2CollegeSIG
Register here: http://www.senylrc.org/HS2CollegeSIG
We invite you to join us for our brand new SIG - High School to College Transition, a group focused on letting high school and college librarians share their experiences with each other. The goal of this group is to help high school librarians prepare students for college, and for academic librarians to gain a better idea of where students are coming from and how they can help.
Through conversation, this SIG will work to ease students’ transition between high school and college. The agenda will be set by the group. Topics of discussion could include college readiness, the first-year college experience, and enhancing critical thinking, and working with college programs in the high school.
On Friday, April 15, over a dozen presenters visited SENYLRC to share their skills, great ideas, and projects for the first ever SENY-Con. You can visit our SENY-Con LibGuide to get more information on presentations, photographs, and tweets from the day's activities.
Registration is now open for the 2016 New York Archives Conference, to be held June 8-10 in Plattsburgh, NY! http://www.nyarchivists.org/nyac/
Come hear our Plenary Speaker, Dyani Feige, Director of Preservation Services at the Conservation Center for Art & Historic Artifacts in Philadelphia, discuss “Documenting, Preserving, and Increasing Accessibility for New York’s Archival Institutions: The Documentary Heritage and Preservation Services Initiative.”
Choose from our two workshops: one that will focus on Records Management for Non-Profits; and the SAA DAS certificate workshop, “Copyright Issues for Digital Archives.”
Register separately for the DAS workshop through SAA at http://saa.archivists.org/events/copyright-issues-for-digital-archives-1688/684/
Confirmed NYAC members are eligible to receive a DAS course registration discount off the SAA non-member rate. Use this code when registering: CIDA25
We are offering enlightening sessions on the uses of labor records, processing large acquisitions, collaboration between nonprofits to increase access to collections, the evolution of the NYS Newspaper Project, making family-held collections available to the public, trends in grant funding approach and methodology in NYS, careers in archives, an update of the work of the Empire State Digital Network and the Digital Public Library of America, digitizing archival collections, an overview of a Hidden Collections Grant project, and the wide array of genealogy uses and tools. Three roundtables will be offered, covering EAD, funding and grants, and a return of the very popular speed-mentoring roundtable.
Join us for light hors d’oeuvres and conviviality at our Thursday evening reception.
Wrap up the conference at the concluding luncheon with Cecilia Esposito, Director of the SUNY Plattsburgh Art Galleries, who will speak about “Provenance, Authentication, and Record Retention in a Museum,” focusing on the Museum’s Rockwell Kent Collection and Kent material deposited at the Archives of American Art.
There is still time to apply for a professional development grant for the conference. The application deadline is May 18th at 5pm. See the details and application materials at http://www.nyarchivists.org/nyac/?page_id=256
Join us for intellectual and professional development, networking, food, and fun
at the NYAC conference at SUNY Plattsburgh!
Find the program and register for the conference and SUNY Plattsburgh residence hall lodging at http://www.nyarchivists.org/nyac/
The deadline for booking residence hall lodging is June 1st.
Additional information is in our local arrangements blog, available at http://www.nyarchivists.org/nyac/?page_id=479
When we hear from you in our class evaluations, we have noticed a handful of requests from members for more information on newsletter writing. With that in mind, we thought you might be interested in seeing what your colleagues across the region are doing with their news. The following links are to a selected group of SENYLRC member newsletters and blogs. (The newsletters are links on the left, and the blogs are in RSS feeds, featuring the most recent post.)
If we missed yours and you would like it included on this list, please send an email to Moshe.
We have switched our mailing list over to Mail Chimp. In order make certain future mailings don't get bounced to your spam folder, you should "opt-in" to the newsletter mailing list.
You can confirm your subscription with this link: http://eepurl.com/byw_4D
SENYLRC Matters is a group effort of input from SENYLRC's staff and is edited by Carolyn Bennett Glauda, Member Services Librarian for Education and Outreach.
Got news to share with the members? Email firstname.lastname@example.org at any time. New hires, retirements, projects, we want to hear from you!