Skip to main content

SENYLRC Matters November & December 2016: Volume 12, Issue 6

Volume 12, Issue 6

Welcome from Tessa Killian, SENYLRC's Executive Director

Dear Southeastern Member,

Southeastern has a new Strategic Plan, which you can review here. Thank you for being part of the planning process by contributing your thoughts and ideas via the online survey. The consultants at Library Strategies incorporated many of the ideas we heard from you into this plan. As you can see, we have new mission and vision statements, as well as three goals that will empower the council to better meet member needs. Trustees are in the process of updating Council bylaws to reflect this new direction. We look forward to working with you on the elements and strategies that will be implemented in the next three years. We are already getting started with implementation! The three events listed below incorporate the strategies to increase networking and social opportunities for you. 

Regards,
Tessa Killian, Executive
Director

 

 

Things to look for in 2017: A celebration of 50 years of library service!

The 50th Annual Meeting of the Council on June 2, 2017 at SUNY New Paltz. The event will be a retrospective featuring presentations from our members. Start thinking about what you would like to share!

The second annual SENY-Con on April 21, 2017 at Southeastern. Share your best work with your colleagues! Apply here

We will end the year with a celebratory gala on December 1, 2017 at Locust Grove in Poughkeepsie. Details coming soon!

 

Upcoming SENYLRC Events

Keep scrolling down the newsletter for details on each of these events!.

At a glance:

View for all announced SENYLRC events on our upcoming events webpage

What is happening at Southeastern?

New on HRVH

New Additions to Hudson River Valley Heritage!

We are pleased to announce three new digital collections available at HRVH:

The Astor Collection tells the untold story of Vincent Astor, one of America's most prominent businessmen, philanthropists and a life-long friend of President Franklin D. Roosevelt. The collection was contributed by the FDR Presidential Library & Museum.

The Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies Newsletter Collection chronicles the history of the Cary Institute, including its inception as the Cary Arboretum of the New York Botanical Garden and establishment of the Institute of Ecosystem Studies (IES).  

There is also a new HRVH online exhibition created through a partnership between the Town of New Paltz Historian’s Office and the SUNY New Paltz History Department. New Paltz in The Civil War includes the entire 1863 New Paltz Enrollment Book and its transcription, a consideration of conscription laws, an examination of particular New Paltz regiments, a partial list of Civil War veterans buried at the New Paltz Rural Cemetery, and a look through the eyes of individuals who experienced the war. 

Astor Collection

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Vincent Astor and FDR dine with European royalty

Photo can be found here: http://www.hrvh.org/cdm/ref/collection/astorcol/id/7

HRVH User's Group

Attention HRVH Contributors: The next User's Group meeting will be held on Tuesday, January 31. The purpose of the meeting is to introduce a new standard for Rights Statements in metadata records. We hope you can join us!

Register Here: http://www.senylrc.org/HRVH_User_Group

Resource Sharing

Resource Sharing

SEAL 2.0 and other resource sharing news

SEAL 2.0

More than 118 libraries have signed up to use SEAL 2.0. Public, school and a few academic libraries are actively using the new system to borrow from each other. We held Training for the new method of placing interlibrary loan requests in all eight counties of the southeastern region over the summer and fall. Four hundred people took advantage of the training and nearly half have signed up for user accounts.

SEAL 2.0 Class for ILLiad libraries

Date: Wednesday, January 4 Time: 10am-12pm*
Date: Thursday, January 5 Time: 1pm-3pm*
Date: Tuesday, January 10 Time: 10am-12pm*
Location: Southeastern
Trainers: Judy Fischetti & Zack Spalding
*The snow date for all classes is Thursday, January 12, 1pm-3pm

Southeastern is offering SEAL 2.0 training in January for academic libraries that use ILLiad software to manage their ILL requests. Libraries including Vassar College, SUNY New Paltz as well as Rockland, Sullivan and Ulster community colleges have been continuing to use the older version of SEAL until Southeastern staff developed procedures to process SEAL 2.0 requests in ILLiad. All academic libraries in the region using ILLiad are welcome to attend a class to learn the new ILL procedures and participate in regional resource sharing. Lending using the older version of SEAL will be discontinued in a couple of months.
 
The class will include the following:
Installing an add-on into ILLiad for searching SEAL 2.0.
How to search and request items from other libraries in the Southeastern region using SEAL 2.0.
How to respond to SEAL 2.0 requests from other libraries in the region.
 
To sign up for SEAL 2.0 / ILLiad classes, please register here.
If you have questions about using SEAL 2.0, contact Judy Fischetti (845) 883-9065 ext. 115 or email ILL@senylrc.org.

Delivery

The Mid-Hudson and Ramapo Catskill Library Systems, in partnership with SENYLRC, are now shipping materials via Empire Library Delivery to academic libraries in the Southeastern region as well as across New York State. The project sponsored by Empire State Library Network benefits the member libraries of the two public library systems through June 2017. They report that the new delivery is “proving to be quite cost effective.”  Questions? Public libraries please contact your library system for details regarding using the new delivery system. Academic libraries please contact Southeastern or ELD with questions.

ELD participants in the Southeastern region:

  • Bard College
  • Columbia-Greene Community College
  • Dutchess Community College
  • Marist College
  • Mid-Hudson Library System member libraries
  • Orange County Community College
  • Ramapo Catskill Library System member libraries
  • Rockland Community College
  • Sullivan Community College
  • SUNY New Paltz
  • Ulster County Community College
  • United States Military Academy, West Point
  • Vassar College

Library Website Accessibility Webinar

Webinar: Striving for Accessibility in Library Services

How accessible is your website for users with disabilities?

Details on the Webinar

Striving for Accessibility in Library Services

Trainer: Nazely Kurkjian, Coordinator of Disability, Diversity, and Nontraditional Student Services, The State University of New York
Date: Monday, January 9, 2017
Time: 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Location: Your Computer
$5 for members of any ESLN council, $10 for non-members

More info and registration at: https://www.esln.org/events/webinar-striving-for-accessibility-in-library-services/

What will be covered in the presentation

Register here

Libraries serve as a powerful gateway to information and scholarship. Information sharing needs to be accessible to all patrons, including users with disabilities. Attendees will learn about legal and moral obligations related to accessibility, barriers that impact accessing information, best practices for accessibility in regards to library services, digital scholarship considerations, and how organizations can proactively ensure equal access to information. This presentation will largely focus on access to electronic information.

Grant Writing SIG

Grant Writing SIG

Network and collaborate with other grant seekers!

Details for registrants

Grant Writing Special Interest Group

Date: Wednesday, January 18, 2017*
Time: 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Location: Southeastern Conference Room
Special Guest: Eric Roth, Manager of Grants & Organizational Funding, Mohonk Preserve
*Snow Date: Friday, January 27, 2017

free for Southeastern members and affiliates of Southeastern members

More info and registration at: http://www.senylrc.org/GrantWritingSIG

What will be covered in the presentation

Register here: http://www.senylrc.org/GrantWritingSIG

All are welcome to our newest Special Interest Group! This group will convene for members to discuss grant writing for proposals that are in progress, just getting started, or not yet found. The discussion with depend on the needs of the group, and we will work together to brainstorm ideas including, but not limited to:

  • resources for finding grants
  • techniques for writing grants
  • collaboration opportunities
  • referrals to grant writing services

Participants are invited to bring their works in progress for peer-to-peer evaluation and advice. We will be joined by fellow librarian and archivist Eric Roth, Manager of Grants & Organizational Funding, Mohonk Preserve. 

Southeastern's Special Interest Groups are designed to help our area members expand their network of contacts and colleagues in the area. We encourage members to join with others in the community to exchange ideas and keep themselves informed about their professional specialties.

High School to College Transition

High School to College Transition SIG

High School and College Librarians meet up here!

Details for registrants

High School to College Transition Special Interest Group

Presenter: Laura Patel, SUNY Orange
Date: Tuesday, January 24, 2017*
Time: 12:00pm - 3:00pm
*Snow Date: Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Location: Southeastern Conference Room
free for Southeastern members and members of BOCES School Library Systems

More info and registration at: http://www.senylrc.org/HS2CollegeSIG

What will be covered in the presentation

Register here: http://www.senylrc.org/HS2CollegeSIG

The High School to College Transition group is focused on letting high school and college librarians share their experiences with each other. The goal of this group is to help high school librarians prepare students for college, and for academic librarians to gain a better idea of where students are coming from and how they can help.

Through conversation, this SIG will work to ease students’ transition between high school and college. The agenda will be set by the group. Topics of discussion could include college readiness, the first-year college experience, and enhancing critical thinking, and working with college programs in the high school, preparing for the 2017-2018 school year, and follow-up from our previous meeting. Staff at any SENYLRC member institution who work directly with students are welcome. 

Couldn't join us last time and want to catch up? Notes from the previous meeting are available on the SIG LibGuide here: http://senylrc.beta.libguides.com/c.php?g=127016&p=3701540

Bibliographic Instruction SIG

Bibliographic Instruction Special Interest Group

Instruction Librarians will meet at Mount Saint Mary again in February!

Registration Information

Date: Friday, February 3, 2017
Time: 10:30am - 1:30pm
Location: Kaplan Family Library at Mount Saint Mary College, Newburgh
Facilitator: Derek Sanderson, Mount Saint Mary College

Register here:

http://www.senylrc.org/BI_SIG

Info for the Instruction SIG Meeting

Register Here: http://www.senylrc.org/BI_SIG

This lunchtime SIG will focus on a topic about Library Instruction. By popular demand, we will meet again at the Kaplan Family Library at Mount Saint Mary College in Newburgh, NY to discuss the timely topic of Information Literacy. We will meet over lunch, (BYO or you can pick up something at the campus store) and after the meeting, you are welcome to tour the library facility. 

If you would like a refresher on the conversations the group has had so far, you can find notes from the last meeting on the LibGuide here: http://senylrc.beta.libguides.com/SIGs/Instruction. Even if you couldn't attend previous meetings or haven't been able to participate in a while, we encourage you to join us this time and meet your colleagues!

For SENYLRC and other ESLN members, there is no cost to register for this meeting.  

Getting Published Workshop

Getting Started… and Published: A Hands-on Workshop for Librarians

Does the idea of publishing your own material sound exciting, yet intimidating too?

Details for registrants

Getting Started… and Published: A Hands-on Workshop for Librarians

Presenter: Jennifer Kegler, SUNY Brockport
Date: Monday, April 7, 2017
Time: 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Location: SENYLRC Conference Room
$25 for members, $35 for non-members

More info and registration at: http://www.senylrc.org/GettingPublished

What will be covered in the presentation

Register here: http://www.senylrc.org/GettingPublished

Would you like to spend a few hours with someone who once felt that way but successfully turned several projects and ideas into peer-reviewed published articles and book chapters?  

Come to this interactive workshop and get inspiration to take your own ideas and research and publish them. Using your regular job duties, interactions with patrons, continuing education opportunities and grant-writing experiences you can generate new ideas for research articles and write about them. Whether you have someone to work with or want to write alone, we will discuss the pros and cons of each, as well as ways to keep organized and creative while writing. We will identify various publishing outlets, including traditional journals and open access titles, and discuss your rights as an author. Learn how to create your own online presence and use your institutional repository (if available) as well as Google Scholar and ORCID. Bring your ideas and your pens or laptops, as we spend time brainstorming, writing, and encouraging each other to just get it done!    

Jennifer Little Kegler has published journal articles regarding information literacy instruction, faculty collaboration with librarians, and cognitive learning theory and online library research guides. She has presented at the state and national level, including the biennial ACRL conferences. She is a Reference Librarian and the Library Instruction Coordinator at the College at Brockport, SUNY, where she has worked since 2005. 

All participants will be given a certificate for CE Credits
Cost: $25 for members, including other ESLN members & $35 for non-members

Use this news!

NYLA 2017 Conference

Believe it or not, it is time to begin the 2017 NYLA Annual Conference Program Proposal Process:

An open call for program proposals is issued to the NYLA membership, and the library community at large.  Proposals are submitted via an online form.

2017 NYLA Conference Program Proposal Submission Form

The program proposal submission deadline is Saturday, December 31, 2016

Don't have a complete proposal in mind, but would like to suggest a topic of speaker?  Let NYLA know!

2017 NYLA Conference Program Topic & Speaker Suggestion Form

Want to see what others have suggested?  Click HERE

Looking for other ideas?  The suggestions received as part of the 2016 Conference Satisfaction Survey are available - Click HERE

Employment Opportunities on the SENYLRC Job Board

We frequently post jobs that are open in the region. If you haven't visited lately, check out the Employment Page on our website. And if you know of an open position from Intern to Director, please email it to us at jobposting@senylc.org, and we will be happy to post it for you!

Student Research Award

NEW YORK STATE ARCHIVES INVITES STUDENTS TO ENTER
STUDENT RESEARCH AWARDS CONTEST

 

The New York State Archives invites students statewide to enter the 27th Annual Student Research Awards Contest. The contest is open to all New York State students in grades 4 – 12 who use historical records in their research projects. The deadline for entries is July 1, 2017. Three awards will be presented in the fall of 2017.

“The Student Research Award program encourages students to go beyond textbooks to access the real documents of history,” said State Archivist Thomas Ruller. “These valuable historical resources can be found in every community across the state and in every family. These historical resources contain first-hand information about the past that engages students and allows them to do the same work as professional historians.”


The Student Research Awards Contest is designed to encourage students to explore the wealth of historical records found across New York State and to increase cooperation between schools and organizations that manage historical records.  The State Archives encourages students to explore the historical records located in their communities by visiting county, city, town and village clerk’s offices; public libraries; historical societies; and businesses. Examples of historical records include letters, diaries, photographs, board meeting minutes, police and court records, ledgers, census records, deeds, and wills. The State Archives has a variety of instructional videos showcasing how to find and use historical records on its website.

 

Participating in the Student Research Award program provides teachers and students with the opportunity to develop research questions and then conduct research to answer those questions. It allows students to choose topics that interest them and lets them put into practice the skills they will need for successful completion of state assessments, success in college and in a career, such as: synthesis and analysis of information, making generalizations, identifying enduring themes in history, and developing conclusions based on evidence.


Individual students and groups of students may submit projects to the contest.  Eligible projects include: computer-based entries such as websites or PowerPoint presentations; exhibits; documentaries; performances; proposals for a historical marker, property or district; and traditional research papers. 

All students must use historical records, as well as other primary and secondary sources, in their research, and each entry must be accompanied by an annotated bibliography that briefly describes how each source was used and how it contributed to the project.  Projects must be nominated by teachers or administrators in the school attended by the student(s).  Community members, such as municipal historians and public librarians, may also nominate students.  Entries from home-schooled students are welcome.

Three awards are presented each year; one for grades 4-5, grades 6-8, and grades 9-12. The awards consist of a framed certificate, a cash award, and an invitation to an awards ceremony in Albany. Certificates of Merit are awarded to students, other than the winners, whose projects are exemplary.


The Student Research Awards are supported by the Laura and Robert Chodos endowment, private contributions, and special grants raised by the New York State Archives Partnership Trust, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization committed to ensuring that the New York State Archives records are preserved and available for future generations.

The New York State Archives is a program of the State Education Department’s Office of Cultural Education. Located on Madison Avenue in Albany, the Archives is open Monday through Saturday from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. except on legal holidays. Further information can be obtained by calling (518) 474-6926 or visiting the Archives’ website at http://www.archives.nysed.gov/.

 

Systematic Review Workshops in Syracuse & NYC

CLRC & METRO, with support from NN/LM MAR and in partnership with The Taubman Health Sciences Library at the University of Michigan are pleased to announce that we are now accepting applications for Systematic Review workshops in NYC and Syracuse.
 
Systematic Reviews: Opportunities for Librarians provides information professionals with foundational knowledge about systematic reviews and an opportunity to engage in high-level discussions about involvement in such projects. The course runs on a flipped classroom model where didactic material is presented in an asynchronous online format over a period of two weeks and is followed closely by an intensive two day in-person workshop. Through a series of learning activities designed to stimulate thought and discussion, participants develop a toolkit of resources and strategies, as well as an action plan, to help foster greater involvement in systematic reviews at their institution.
 
This course is accredited for 20 MLA CE credits. 
 
Online Component (All participants): April 3-16, 2017
 
New York, NY: April 17-18, 2017
 
Syracuse, NY: April 20-21, 2017
 
Cost: $100
 
Each two-day workshop (NYC & Syracuse) is limited to 25 participants.
 
This project has been funded in whole or in part by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health (NIH) under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012342 with the University of Pittsburgh, Health Sciences Library System.
 
Preference will be given to applicants working at institutions based in New York State.
 
 
 
Please use a modern browser (Chrome or Firefox) for best results
Deadline for Applications is Tuesday, January 17th at 5pm
 
For additional information, please contact Angela Thor: athor@clrc.org

#1lib1ref campaign

Hello Library Partners,

 

We are beginning to prepare for the #1lib1ref campaign, where we Imagine a World where Every Librarian Added One More Reference to Wikipedia.Building on the success from last year, the 2017 campaign will run from January 15 through February 3, 2017. And we need your help!

 

Wikipedia’s strength is in the references that support it; the Wikipedia community doesn’t want members of the public to just “trust Wikipedia.” Wikipedia is an ever changing source of information. Learning how to critically evaluate Wikipedia is a key skill. Librarians are in a perfect position to dispel myths and use Wikipedia as a case study for teaching information literacy skills; however, it can be hard to teach these skills without experience in Wikipedia’s content creation process.

 

#1lib1ref is the library community coming together to examine Wikipedia critically, while also giving that most precious birthday gift: a citation. We hope the experience of #1lib1ref can provide the tools and assistance to help librarians integrate Wikipedia into the broader research landscape.

 

We are looking for partners who can:

 

If you are interested, please check out the campaign page at 1lib1ref.org and respond to this email to let us know how you would like to get involved.

 

Cheers,


The Wikipedia Library Team

Between newsletters, catch up with us on Twitter!

Member Newsletters

News roundup from our membership

Reading our class evaluations, we have noticed a handful of requests from members for more information on newsletter writing. With that in mind, we thought you might be interested in seeing what your colleagues across the region are doing with their news. The following links are to a selected group of SENYLRC member newsletters and blogs. (The newsletters are links on the left, and the blogs are in RSS feeds, featuring the most recent post.)

If we missed yours and you would like it included on this list, please send an email to Moshe.

Mid-Hudson Library System

Finkelstein Memorial Library

Middletown Thrall Library

Tuxedo Park Library

Newburgh Free Library

Rhinebeck Historical Society

Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum

Loading ...

United States Military Academy Library

Loading ...

Vassar College Library

Loading ...

Renew your newsletter subscription here

Mail Chimp Sign-up list

Don't miss an issue of SENYRLC Matters!

We have switched our mailing list over to Mail Chimp. In order make certain future mailings don't get bounced to your spam folder, you should "opt-in" to the newsletter mailing list.

You can confirm your subscription with this link: http://eepurl.com/byw_4D

Credits

SENYLRC Matters is a group effort of input from SENYLRC's staff and is edited by Carolyn Bennett Glauda, Member Services Librarian for Education and Outreach.

Got news to share with the members? Email carolyn@senylrc.org at any time. New hires, retirements, projects, we want to hear from you!

Southeastern NY Library Resources Council
21 South Elting Corners Road | Highland, NY 12528
Phone: (845) 883-9065
www.senylrc.org