Skip to main content

SENYLRC Matters September & October 2014: Welcome Back!

Welcome Back!

News for the Southeastern Region

We hope you had a happy and restful, yet productive summer! Here at SENYLRC, we are going through a challenging, but exciting time. As you may have read in our special edition of the newsletter last month, John Shalioko has retired as Executive Director so that he may focus on his health. We are sad to see him go, but happy to warmly welcome Tessa Killian to her new role as Interim Executive Director.

While that change is a big one, that is not the only personnel news from the Council! In a few weeks, Kathy Horodyski will be retiring from SENYLRC after 28 years of service. In honor of our stellar colleague, please see the article about Kathy in this issue.

Related to Kathy's retirement, SENYLRC is now hiring for the position of Office Manager and is currently conducting interviews.

This month's issue will also feature stories from around the SENYLRC region, including what's new in Hospital Libraries, an author series AND a new hire at SUNY Ulster, very important information about SENYLRC's new phone system (we all are getting new extentions!!!), and news from around the state. See below for more... 

Image: V. Donaghue, “September—Back to Work, Back to School, Back to Books” [1940]. WPA Poster Collection, Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division, Washington, D.C.

 

 

Kathy Horodyski

About Kathy

Kathy has been with the Council since 1986, and has been keeping the staff afloat for all of these years. You might not have worked directly with Kathy, but if you have ever attended an event at the council, benefited from the MISP service, or caught up on news via the Board of Trustees minutes, then you have been supported by one of the many responsibilities Kathy undertakes with aplomb. Her professional demeanor and reliability make it possible for everyone at Southeastern to do their work, and we are going to miss her daily morning greeting. (She is unfailingly at her desk and on the job before most people even leave their house.)

Tessa Killian, SENYLRC's Interim Director added, "Kathy is always willing to help out with anything that staff need here at the council. She has performed just about every clerical duty imaginable and been so flexible with her changing role here over the last 28 years. Kathy started at the council using a typewriter and her skills advanced along with the new technologies added over the years, becoming proficient with Word and Excel and email. She is an amazing person and we will miss her presence dearly."

Back in 1986 when Kathy started here, she was the secretary to the assistant director, and eventually became assistant to the director. As SENYLRC's programs grew and changed, she became the Program Assistant for the Hospital Library Services Program (HLSP.) She currently keeps track of MISP expenditures, takes minutes of the Board of Trustees meetings, keeps track of our office needs, and provides support for meetings held at the council.

As a life-long resident of the Hudson Valley, Kathy has always been a lover of libraries, a place where she used to take her son Michael, and then her grandson, Mason. When Kathy started here, Michael was reading children's books, and now Mason can drive himself to the library! Kathy is an active member of her Highland community, teaching religion, visiting friends, and traveling to new places. Most recently, she was in Nova Scotia, Lake George, and Atlantic City.

Kathy, we will miss you when you go, and please keep sending us postcards from your travels!

Kathy in action

NLM Class on Mobile Resources

NLM Class

UPDATE as of 9/9/14:  Sorry,  due to illness of the instructor, this presentation is postponed to a later date.

NN/LM MAR (National Library of Medicine Middle Atlantic Region) trainer Missy Harvey will be presenting a class open to all librarians covering the free apps and mobile ready sites available from NLM and the Disaster Information Management Research Center. Come to learn about the wide range of apps for health, disaster medicine, first aid, and even disasters in libraries. Some familiarity with downloading apps required. Bring your mobile device(s)!

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/mobile/index.html

Time: Wednesday September 18, 1:30-3:00 

Location: SENYLRC Conference Room

Register here - Please register by September 16th!

This event is offered at no charge for SENYLRC Members

Special Interest Groups (SIGs)

Cataloging SIG re-cap

The first cataloging SIG convened at the SENYLRC office on Tuesday, August 8, and it was a great introduction to this kind of collaborative meeting.

The meeting was convened by Megan Coder and Madeline Veitch of SUNY New Paltz, and about a dozen were in attendance. Topics included: RDA implementation, future continuing education opportunities, workflow comparisons, the difference between ebook usage at public libraries and at academic libraries, outsourcing, and the future of library catalogs.

The notes from the meeting are available in libguide format, which also includes some favorite links suggested by the librarians who participated in the meeting.

 

Instruction SIG

Coming up next is:

Library Instruction SIG

When: October 23, 10am-12pm

Where: SENYLRC 

Who & What: Reference and Instruction Librarians Instructional Swap Meet - Come share an effective instructional practice or tool and pick up some ideas to enhance your repertoire. To kick of the instruction SIG we’ll have time to meet one another, swap ideas (each attendee will be allotted five minutes to share), and talk about possible topics for future meetings.

Convened by: Anne Deutsch, SUNY New Paltz

Register here

Unconference on Student Assistants, Interns, and Volunteers

*

Got great help but don't know what to do next? This unconference will help you connect with colleagues that have been and are in the same situation.

Unconference details

For anyone who supervises student assistants, interns, or volunteers, we are hosting an event to help you work with this population of invaluable library labor. This program is designed to give you best practices for creating postilions, advertising, recruiting, interviewing and training.

Attending the unconference will provide you with the opportunity to engage in productive discussions with others who interact with these workers from all types of organizations. With the assistance of a facilitator, you will establish an agenda for the unconference that will accomplish what you want to share and learn about this type of discretionary worker. Topics could include: what value does the job add to the person's education? or, what benefit do these workers add to the organization?

Target Audience: Participants are welcome from across the SENYLRC library, archive and cultural heritage community who work with student assistants, interns, or volunteers.

Facilitator: Betsy Cawley, Bard College

Date: Friday, November 14, 2014: 9am-12pm

Register Here! This event is offered at no charge for SENYLRC members.

New Phone Extentions

SENYLRC Contact List

SENYLRC Main phone number: (845) 883-9065

Tessa Killian - Interim Executive Director, x114

Judy Fischetti, Member Services Librarian, x115

Patricia Carroll-Mathes, Hospital Library Program Manager, x117

Jennifer Palmentiero, Digital Services Librarian, x116

Zachary Spalding, Systems Manager, x111

Kathy Horodyski, Program Assistant, x110

Ben Shor, Bookkeeper, x113

Carolyn Bennett, Program Assistant for Communications, x121     

SENYLRC Fax: (845) 883-9483

New Phones!

Trying to reach someone at Southeastern? As of today, we have new phone extentions! Please update your contacts as necessary. Our full contact information can be found on the staff page of senylrc.org.

Resource Sharing Today

Resource Sharing Today by Dr. Corinne Nyquist

Corinne Nyquist is an InterLibrary Loan Librarian at the Sojourner Truth Library at the State University of New York at New Paltz. She was a member of the ALA committee that revised the Interlibrary Loan Code for the United States in 2008. She is a member of the ALA Library School Accreditation External Review Panel.

Congratulations to Dr. Nyquist, friend of SENYLRC and expert in resource sharing! We highly recommend this book for anyone who wants to learn more about resource sharing.

Our own Judy Fischetti is quoted on the book jacket!

"Corinne Nyquist is an expert and an authority on interlibrary loan (ILL) and resource sharing. She explores many aspects of ILL in dept in this book. Beginning as well as experienced ILL staff will learn much from her." - Judy Fischetti, member services librarian, SENYLRC.

News from SUNY Ulster

Saïd Sayrafiezadeh

The SUNY Ulster Herbert H. & Sofia P. Reuner Library Writers Series is a special program sponsored by The Ulster Community College Foundation, begun in 1998, that brings renowned writers to campus every fall. This is a truly unique opportunity for SUNY Ulster students and community members to hear award winning authors read from their work.

The next event in the series will feature Saïd Sayrafiezadeh on Thursday, November 6, from 11:45am-1pm.

Full and complete information about the event and the author can be found on the SUNY Ulster libguide here.

For reservations, contact the Foundation office at (845) 687-5283.

Comings & Goings

Marla Gruner has joined the Macdonald DeWitt Library staff at SUNY Ulster.

Marla spent five years at Rockland Community College as Adjunct Reference/Instruction Librarian before beginning at Ulster in March. Prior to that she was an Archives Intern at Bard College where she helped digitize Catherine Cruger Bard's handwritten recipe book from 1803 which can currently be viewed on HRVH.org.

She is putting her excellent technical skills to good use revamping the library’s web and social media presence. 

Welcome, Marla!

News from Historic Huguenot Street

New Faces at Historic Huguenot Street

SENYLRC member and HRVH contributor Historic Huguenot Street has a forthcoming newsletter with an introduction of new employees and updates on what the collection team is doing:

Treasure Chest

For more information about what the collections team has found, including some of the archeaology being done on the site, you can sign up for Historic Huguenot Street's newsletter. The upcoming edition features these two stories.

Digging Discovery

MSMC Open House

Mount Saint Mary College

The "Green Room" and classroom

The access services area, with preserved archways and stained glass

The view of the Dominican Center from the lower campus.

MSMC Hosts Open House for Library Community

On Thursday, August 14, Mount Saint Mary College dedicated The Kaplan Family Library and Learning Center, their brand new library located in the Dominican Center on the Newburgh, NY campus. Barbara Petruzzelli, Director of the MSMC Library and President of the SENYLRC Board of Directors, welcomed librarians and friends from the region to an open house and reception to mark the occasion and tell us more about what went into the extensive renovations.

The new library opened with a ceremonial procession of books last winter, and looked ready to welcome students for the Fall semester. In addition to the library, the Dominican Center also features unique and modern residence halls (complete with game rooms, kitchens, and workout rooms with unbeatable views!) The college's chapel is also located in the building. Originally purposed with being a headquarters for the sisters, the Dominican Center gave the library a few design challenges. This includes five points of entry, and a very long and narrow footprint on two floors. Those limitations bred ingenuity, and the solution is that the books reside on one side of the building behind three security gates and the study spaces, computer labs, and classrooms are on the other side of the building.

As you can see from the pictures to the left, even though the design is fresh and modern, they made the effort to keep some of the original design elements, choosing colors that were inspired from the stained glass, and preserving some arched doorways and panels. The best design element of all is the remarkable view of the Hudson River Valley that can be seen right outside the library's windows. It is undoubtedly an inspiring place to do research.

If you would like to see the library for yourself, there is good news! SENYLRC's 48th Annual Meeting of the Council will be held on Friday, June 5, 2015 on the Mount Saint Mary College campus.

HRVH on Facebook

HRVH on Facebook

Hundreds of heritage-loving fans in the Hudson Valley are following HRVH on Facebook! The page's weekly posts feature the vast array of items from our members' collections. We could use your help to spread the word! After you've liked us on Facebook, if you see a post that you enjoy, every time you like the post, leave a comment, or share it, that triggers Facebook's algorithms to push our posts out to more users. In turn, more people learn about the service, and more of the collections get seen and used.

If you want to see something featured on the Facebook page, please make a suggestion to Carolyn at carolyn@senylrc.org and we will try our best to feature it.

To the right are examples of recent posts:

A New Concord grade school class from the Chatham Library

The Ulster County Fair from Ellenville Public Library

Tappan Zee Construction from Nyack Public Library

Featured on HRVH this summer

New e-rate terms

New e-rate

Changes are coming to e-rate distribution this coming year! For those of you who participate in the program, the most impactful change is that the program is working towards focusing on broadband connectivity. Therefore, it is phasing out support for telephone service. This will start with a 20% decrease in telephone supported programs next year. That means that if your library used to get 90% support, under the new system, that will become 70% support. All telephone support will be eliminated and replaced with broadband support by 2016. As you prepare paperwork for the coming year, please plan for this accordingly.

For the full technical specifications and information on what is being eliminated, the E-Rate newsletter (below) contains full details: 

News You Can Use

September NY3Rs Newsletter

The August NY3R's Newsletter wil help you catch up on news from the other councils in the NY3Rs Association!

 

Lynda.com

Summer is the best time to learn something new! We welcome all SENYLRC members to sign up to borrow a free 30-day membership to Lynda.com in order to access their robust library of online videos!

(Limit two licenses per library, and proof of library employment may be required if we don't recognize your email address.)

GHHN Awards $104,000 in Grants

Greater Hudson Heritage Network is awarding $104,000.00 in conservation treatment grants to 24 organizations, located in 18 counties of New York, in association with the New York State Council on the Arts (NYSCA), a state agency.

For a full list of agencies who will be receiving these grants, along with information about their proposed projects, see the August 20, 2014 press release.

Health Happens in Libraries Webinar

This webinar, hosted by WebJunction, is most helpful for public libraries, but anyone who might have to know a little bit more about health insurance could benefit from attending.

NY3Rs CE Events

The following webinars are available to SENYLRC members through the NY3R's:

Assessing & Improving Your Website: Part 1 - Usability and Conventions, September 30th from 1-2:30pm (group registration available)
Assessing & Improving Your Website: Part 2 - Writing for the Web and Content Strategy, October 7th from 1-2:30pm (group registration available)
Assessing & Improving Your Website: Part 3 - User Research Methods, October 14th from 1-2:30pm (group registration available)
Risk Assessment for Emergency Preparedness, October 20th from 12-2pm
Disaster Planning, November 19th from 12-2pm
Assessing Risk to Digital Assets, December 3rd, from 12-2pm

Click the links above for more information and registration for each of the webinars. Note that the Assessing & Improving Your Website sessions all have a group registration option - host a group viewing for two or more people for just $25!

Beyond the "Go Kit" Article

Libraries of all types should be aware of this report and its recommendations which can be applied to many of the communities in our region as well as NYC. There are also some recommendations for NYS regulation.

National Library of Medicine Ebola updates

Southeastern NY Library Resources Council
21 South Elting Corners Road | Highland, NY 12528
Phone: (845) 883-9065
www.senylrc.org