Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARPA Awards for Southeastern Members 2021 - 2022: Library and Museum Partnerships Projects

Funding Area: Library & Museum Partnerships Projects

decorative image

Southeastern has been allocated $72,358 for the Library & Museum Partnerships Project component of the ARPA award. This initiative is intended to strengthen library/museum partnerships at the regional and/or local levels. These funds will be distributed as sub-awards through a competitive review process through the program Library / Museum Partnership Sub-awards from Southeastern. Contact: arpa@senylrc.org

The Library / Museum Partnerships Subawards from Southeastern program is supported with federal American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) funds allocated to the New York State Library by the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).

Program Updates
Southeastern received thirteen applications with budget requests that totaled $151,348 (Nov 2021).

Six projects were selected for funding (details below) after all applications were reviewed, and $69,858 was awarded (Dec 2021).

Southeastern staff conducted kick-off calls with projects (Jan 2022).
Disbursed the first of three installments of award funds to projects (Feb 2022).
Community event dates posted - details and links below! (Mar 2022).
Interim project reports submitted, reviewed, approved (Mar 2020).
Disbursed the second of three installments of award funds to projects (Mar 2022).
Project work is ongoing, links to outputs and outcomes below: oral histories, new digital collections, and pictures of events (April 2022).


Kingston Immigrant Oral History Project | Base Ball at the Orange County Driving Park | History of the Town of Olive | Discover Marlboro | For the Love of Place | miSci Libratory Explorers Program

Kingston Immigrant Oral History Project

Kingston Immigrant Oral History Project
Lead library partner: Kingston Public Library
Primary Museum Partner: Reher Center for Immigrant Culture and History
Other Partner Organizations: Radio Kingston
County: Ulster
Contact: Brian James
Project Summary: This collaborative project will record interviews at community events organized by the Kingston Public Library and the Reher Center for Immigrant Culture and History in Spring 2022 to document, preserve, and share the oral histories of the present-day immigrant experience in the community of Kingston, NY.

Project Outputs:

Kingston Immigrant Oral History ProjectShare Your Story, Be Part of History!
The Kingston Library and the Reher Center for Immigrant Culture and History 
are launching a collaborative project to gather, document, preserve, and share 
the oral histories of the immigrant experience in our community.

FREE music, food, crafts, & register to record your story.

Saturday, April 9, 2022, 3-5 PM, Kingston Library, 55 Franklin St., Kingston, NY.

Saturday, April 30, 2022, 2-4 PM, Reher Center, 101 Broadway, Kingston, NY.

Website: https://www.kingstonlibrary.org/immigrant-oral-history-project/

Event flier: English

If you are interested in sharing your story, please call (845) 331-0507 or email circulation@kingstonlibrary.org.
Project Outcomes:
The Kingston Immigrant Oral History Collection from this project is online - and growing! Listen to the interviews or read interview transcripts to learn the story of people from around the world who have made their home in Kingston, NY.

 


Project Description: The Kingston Library and the Reher Center for Immigrant Culture and History are launching a collaborative project to gather, document, preserve, and share the oral histories of the immigrant experience in our community. In the spring of 2022, the organizations will host two events designed to bring communities together, create a deeper understanding between individuals, give voice to marginalized populations, and create an inclusive historical record. A wide range of public organizations will be represented at each event to strengthen community connections with immigrant populations, raise awareness of available services, help shape future services, and recruit individuals to contribute their stories to the project. This proposal is motivated by a lack of materials in the library’s Local History collection on the immigrant experience of the latter twentieth and early twenty-first century, as well as the value the Reher Center for Immigrant Culture and History and Radio Kingston place on the preservation of community history, particularly during a time of rapid demographic change in our city. Recorded oral histories and transcriptions of the interviews done for the project will become part of partnering organizations’ collections, ensuring that marginalized voices are recorded in the historical record and made accessible through public institutions.

Base Ball at the Orange County Driving Park: Celebrating the History of Baseball and Harness Racing in Goshen, New York

Base Ball at the Orange County Driving Park: Celebrating the History of Baseball and Harness Racing in Goshen, New York
Lead library partner: Goshen Public Library & Historical Society

Primary Museum Partner: Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame

County: Orange

Contact: Michelle Mueller
Project Summary: This collaborative project will celebrate the common ground that 19th century base ball shared with harness racing by presenting a joint exhibition, crafts, lectures, and reading programs at the Goshen Public Library & Historical Society and the Harness Racing Museum & Hall of Fame. In June 2022, the partners will host a free community event featuring a harness racing exhibition and a live vintage baseball game on the infield of the track in Goshen, NY.

Project Outputs:

Let's Play Ball! Celebrate Baseball Then & Now at the Goshen Public Library and Historical Society
366 Main St, Goshen, NY 10924, 845-294-6606, http://www.goshenpubliclibrary.org/
Sunday, April 3, 2022 - Tuesday, May 31, 2022: Reading for Runs Reading Challenge. Team Library vs. Team Fiction. Read the handout for reading challenge details.
Wednesday, May 11, 2022, 5-7 PM: Jackie & Me Dugout Party. Drop in to talk about the book, make your own baseball card and maybe hear from a surprise guest!

Tuesday, May 17, 2022, 5-7 PM: Family Building Night: Stadium Build. Come build Wrigley Field using new technology. Sign-up starts May 10.

Wednesday, May 25, 2022, 5 PM: Ballgame Snacks: Video Release. Join Mrs. L on the library YouTube channel for a fun cooking video to make an unconventional baseball snack!

Wednesday, June 1, 2022, 5-6:30 PM: Don't Drop the Ball Drop-in Craft. Drop in to join Miss Maggie for some cool baseball-inspired crafting.

Tuesday, June 7, 2022, 10-10:30 AM: Little League Storytime. Drop in to Mrs. L for a 5-and-under baseball-themed storytime.
Game Day at the Historic Track: Saturday, June 11, 2022, 3 PM - Stay Tuned for Details
Harness Racing Museum, 240 Main St, Goshen, NY 10924, 845-294-6330; https://harnessmuseum.com/












 

Project Description: This collaborative project will explore and celebrate local 19th century “base ball” and the common ground it shared with the trotting sport. Goshen Historic Track, established in 1838 is the nation’s oldest active harness track and a National Historic Landmark. This historic oval provided a public venue for trotting races, and the open space of the infield also provided a community baseball field for local and visiting teams through the early 1900s. This Spring, beginning in May, the Library and Museum will present a joint exhibition from their respective collections, family-friendly crafts, reading programs, and adult lectures highlighting the local intersection of baseball and harness racing history. The project will culminate in a large, multi-generational community event on June 11th at Goshen Historic Track. The day’s program will include a harness racing exhibition, a live vintage baseball game, and crafts.

Consolidated Digital Collection of the History of the Town of Olive

Consolidated Digital Collection of the History of the Town of Olive
Lead library partner:
Olive Free Library Association

Primary Museum Partner:
Historical Society of the Town of Olive

Other Partner Organizations:
The Ashokan Center, The Brunel Sculpture Park, Town of Olive

County:
Ulster
Contact:
Chrissy Lawlor
Project Summary: This collaborative project between the Olive Free Library and the Historical Society of the Town of Olive
will organize, process, and digitize items to provide an online collection that gives the community access to materials that provide a clearer picture of life in the Town of Olive, which was torn apart during the construction of the Ashokan Reservoir.

Project Outputs:

Putting a Town Back Together
"Men With Surveying Equipment" was taken in the Town of Olive during the building of the Ashokan Reservoir. This photograph, plus documents and maps, are being digitized and added to the Ashokan Reservoir Collection on New York Heritage to provide a central place to access the history of the Town of Olive.

Download a postcard announcing the collection.



 

 


Project Description: The Town of Olive was literally torn apart when the 8300-acre Ashokan Reservoir was built in 1906 to provide clean drinking water for New York City. Communities were forever lost or relocated as hundreds of local families were displaced, often losing their homes and land in eminent domain proceedings. This devastating process changed lives forever, and the Town has since struggled to rebuild its sense of community. The legacy of uncertainty that the Ashokan Reservoir brought to Olive is crucial to understanding how important the Olive Free Library is to residents as both a community center and a local history archive. Because the Town's history is housed by several organizations throughout the community, the Olive Free Library will partner with the Historical Society of the Town of Olive and other organizations in the Town to create a Consolidated Digital Collection of the History of the Town of Olive. The Olive Free Library plans to organize, process, and digitize items to create a centralized online repository. Some of the items of most interest are documents and maps pre-construction of the Ashokan Reservoir and the previous Town Historian's notebooks and collections. The project's goal is to provide an online collection that gives the community access to materials that provide a clearer picture of life in the Town of Olive before, during, and after the building of the Ashokan Reservoir.

Discover Marlboro: The Story of the Gomez Mill House: A Jewish Heritage Site

Discover Marlboro: The Story of the Gomez Mill House: A Jewish Heritage Site
Lead library partner: Marlboro Free Library

Primary Museum Partner: Gomez Mill House

County: Ulster/Orange

Contact:Lindsay Jankovitz
Project Summary: This collaborative project between the Marlboro Free Library and the Gomez Mill House (Marlboro, NY) will create a virtual tour of the Gomez Mill House, one of the oldest Jewish Heritage sites in North America. The tour will be featured on the Library’s Discover Marlboro app.

Project Outputs:

The Gomez Mill House: a developing story...
To develop the walking tour, the project partners are conducting research by looking through old newspapers and historical accounts. They have uncovered information on slavery and BIPOC in the town's history, which has often been overlooked. Watch the digital collection grow with resources that tell The Story of the Gomez Mill House.


 


Project Description: Through this project, the Marlboro Free Library will partner with the Gomez Mill House, one of the oldest Jewish Heritage sites in North America, which is located in Marlboro, N.Y. The project will create a virtual tour of the Gomez Mill House, to be featured on the Library’s Discover Marlboro app. Drawing from each institutions’ collections and records, this tour will focus on the narratives of the indigenous peoples’ use of the surrounding land, the site’s first inhabitant, Luis Moses Gomez, a Spanish Sephardic Jewish merchant who came to New York fleeing the Spanish Inquisition, and the property’s history of slavery. The Marlboro Free Library will further draw from its local history collection to relate these narratives to the town’s broader history. Artifacts, photographs, maps, and old documents will be digitized for the first time and made readily accessible to the public. Access to this tour will be made public in June 2022.

For the Love of Place: Rosendale, New York

For the Love of Place: Rosendale, New York
Lead library partner: Rosendale Library

Primary Museum Partner: Century House Historical Society

County: Ulster

Contact: Katie Scott-Childress
Project Summary: This collaborative project between the Rosendale Library and the Century House Historical Society will present a series of programs to bring residents and other participants into contact with the natural, social, and cultural history of Rosendale, NY, which provided cement for the Brooklyn Bridge and the base of the Statue of Liberty.

Project Outputs:

FREE! Click the links for each event to register.
Snyder Estate, 668 Route 213, Rosendale, NY
12472-0150; 845-658-9900; https://www.centuryhouse.org/; Events website: https://www.centuryhouse.org/ftlop-22/

Rosendale Library, 264 Main Street, Rosendale NY 12472, 845-658-9013; https://rosendalelibrary.org; Events website: https://rosendalelibrary.org/for-the-love-of-place-spring-programs-at-the-snyder-estate/

 

 

Project Outcomes:
See pictures from the event series during spring 2022!

Native American Bird Stories with Evan T. Pritchard, April 23, 2022

At the Snyder Estate, 60 people, plus birds, attended the event.

 

 

 

 

 


Project Description: Rosendale, a town known for its natural cement, made the Brooklyn Bridge and the base of the Statue of Liberty possible. The remnants of the once-bustling cement industry are visible today in the form of large brick kilns and mines that remain prominent features of the landscape. This project, a collaboration between the Rosendale Library and the Century House Historical Society, will present a series of programs to bring residents and other participants into contact with the natural, social, and cultural history of Rosendale. The program series includes:  1) A guided walk highlighting the rich fossils embedded in the stone of the Widow Jane Mine and the geology of Rosendale Cement. 2) A guided walk from a descendant of the Mi’kmaq people to identify spring birds and learn how birds played a central role in local Native American culture. 3) An instrument-making workshop with recycled and natural materials culminating in a small performance in the Widow Jane Mine. 4) A foraging walk on the Snyder estate to harvest edible plants and learn ways to prepare them through climate-friendly cooking. 5) A presentation on the history of the cement industry in Rosendale. 6) A workshop to identify spring ephemeral flowers and create cut paper designs. 7) A guided walk to forage and learn about the fungi that thrive in the limestone bedrock environment of Rosendale.

miSci Libratory Explorers Program

miSci Libratory Explorers Program
Lead library partner: Chatham Public Library

Primary Museum Partner: Museum of Innovation and Science - miSci

Other Partner Organizations: Claverack Free Library, New Lebanon Library, North Chatham Free Library, Philmont Public Library, Roeliff Jansen Community Library, Valatie Free Library

County: Columbia

Contact: Jen McCreery
Project Summary: This project will bring STEM education programs conducted by professional facilitators from the Museum of Innovation and Science - miSci - to participating public and school libraries in Columbia county New York during the Spring of 2022 to complement the work of classroom educators, to assist students impacted by COVID school closures, and to support students' STEM skill sets defined in the Next Generation Science Standards.

Project Outputs:

Find a miSci Libratory Explorers event at a Columbia County library near you! 

Chatham Public Library, 11 Woodbridge Ave., Chatham, NY 12037 | 518.392.3666
Event flier 
Friday, May 6, 2022, 3 PM: Nanotechnology
The smallest things around us make a big difference.. Engineering & Tech, K-5
Friday, May 13, 2022, 3 PM: Science Solutions
Make the best bouncy ball! Chemistry, K-5
Friday, May 27, 2022, 3 PM: Dry ice!
Watch as objects are frozen before your eyes...! Physics, K-5

North Chatham Free Library, 4287 Route 203, North Chatham, NY 12132 | 518-766-3211
Event flier; Registration required; mail@northchathamlibrary.org. Homeschoolers welcome to register as a group.
Friday, March 11, 2022, 4-5 PM: Crime Lab Science. grades 3-8
Friday, April 8, 2022, 4-5 PM: Surviving on the Moon 101. grades 2-8
Friday, April 29, 2022, 4-5 PM: Science Solutions. grades 2-5

Claverack Free Library,  629 NY-23B, Claverack, NY 12513 | 518-851-7120
Event flier, Please register: info@claveracklibrary.org
Friday, March 18, 2022, Surviving the Moon, Montgomery C. Smith Elementary School After School Program
Friday, March 25, 2022, Optical Illusions, Hudson JR High School After School Program
Saturday, April 23, 2022, 10 AM, Crime Lab Science, Claverack Free Library - Event flier

Project Outcomes:
See pictures and quotes from STEM education programs in Columbia county during spring 2022!

Dry Ice Physics Theory for Second Graders, April 2022: Roeliff Jansen Community Library, Philmont Public Library, MiSci, four second grade classrooms at Taconic Hills Elementary School.

I would first say thank you so much for setting up the whole MISI lab “dry Ice” experiment for the day! I know a lot of effort goes into putting it all together. The Second grade students and teachers thought it was outstanding! Frank , who came to do the whole lab from MISI, was Fantastic! It was a great learning collaboration and truly appreciated! Thank You Again ~ Michael Wiegard, STREAM, Visual Arts Teacher, Taconic Hills CSD



 

 

Crime Lab Science, April 23, 2022: Claverack Free Library, MiSci

At the Claverack Free Library, 8 children and 9 adults (and one criminally cute dog!) learned the science behind a crime scene investigation.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Project Description: This project will bring STEM education programs conducted by professional facilitators from the Museum of Innovation and Science - miSci - to participating libraries during the Spring of 2022. The goal is to complement the work of classroom educators and to assist students impacted by COVID school closures to gain knowledge and advanced understanding of STEM concepts that will support skill sets defined in the Next Generation Science Standards. The target audiences are students in Columbia County, including students whose families have chosen to home school. Participating libraries will work with museum facilitators to schedule programs that best reflect their local students’ needs by age group and subject area. Some examples of programs include: 1) Surviving on the Moon 101 (Grades 2–8) - Students work together to solve a series of challenges grounded in real science about living and doing research on the Moon. 2) Crime Lab Science (Grades 3–8) - “Detectives in training” identify the main types of fingerprints, explore the science of chromatography, learn about DNA and how to extract it. 3) Fun with Physics (Grades 3–8) - Students identify different forces by observing Bernoulli’s principle, falling objects, and gyroscopes and then create a toy helicopter to illustrate these concepts.

Library / Museum Program Timeline

July 29, 2022 - Deadline extended June 30, 2022: Final 10% of sub-award amount distributed
July 15, 2022 - Deadline extended June 15, 2022: All project work completed; final project report submitted

March 18, 2022: Interim project reports due
January 2022: Projects begin
Late January 2022: Project administration kick-off call with project awardees
Late December 2021: Sub-award notifications and announcements
Nov-Dec, 2021: Application review
November 29, 2021: Applications due by 5pm

November 5, 2021: Information Session - 11am-12pm

Southeastern NY Library Resources Council
21 South Elting Corners Road | Highland, NY 12528
Phone: (845) 883-9065
www.senylrc.org