What is metadata?
"Metadata is structured information that describes, explains, locates, or otherwise makes it easier to retrieve, use, or manage an information resource." -- (NISO, Understanding Metadata, 2004)
Metadata for Digital Projects Presentation, March 1, 2023
New York Heritage Data Dictionary
- New York Heritage Metadata Dictionary
This metadata dictionary was designed for institutions contributing materials to New York Heritage. It includes descriptions, best practices, and examples for each collection metadata element. It also provides guidelines on institution level metadata, a glossary, and helpful links to controlled vocabulary resources.
OpenRefine
- OpenRefine
An open source tool for working with large sets of data.
- OpenRefine Documentation
The OpenRefine user manual with sections on installing the software, starting a project, editing data, reconciling data, and more.
Metadata Basics & Best Practices
- Understanding Metadata: What is Metadata, and What is it For?
A primer published by NISO which provides a general overview of metadata, including descriptions of different schemas and examples from cultural institutions.
- Introduction to Metadata
A publication of the Getty Research Institute (2016) which provides an overview of metadata, as well as information on standards, methods, and tools.
- Principles of Good Metadata
An overview of metadata basics, also from NISO, which also includes in-depth descriptions of six principles of good metadata.
Dublin Core Metadata
- Dublin Core Basics
Dublin Core is the metadata schema used by New York Heritage. This links to the Dublin Core Metadata Initiative's (DCMI) website. It provides some basic introductions to metadata generally, and more specifically to Dublin Core.
- Dublin Core Metadata Element Set
Dublin Core is comprised of unique 15 data elements -- Creator, Contributor, Publisher, Title, Date, Language, Format, Subject, Description, Identifier, Relation, Source, Type, Coverage, and Rights. This document describes each element and what information it covers in more detail.
Controlled Vocabularies
- Thesaurus for Graphic Materials (TGM)
TGM is a controlled vocabulary for indexing materials by subject or genre / form. The site is a great resource if you have trouble locating a specific term within your client. You can also view items with terms applied to see if it is appropriate to your item.
- Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH)
A thesaurus of subject headings maintained by the library of Congress.
- Library of Congress Name Authority File (LCNAF)
A thesaurus of authority records used to establish standardized forms of names (for people, places, meetings, and organizations).
- Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN)
A structured vocabulary for places important in the study of art and architecture.
- Getty Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT)
A controlled vocabulary describing objects of art and the processes / materials from which they are made.
- Getty's Union List of Artist Names (ULAN)
A vocabulary of names and biographic information pertaining to artists and architects.