April 13, 2018
See below for a summary of presentations and handouts from this event:
Ulster County Women of Note
- Ulster County Women of NoteSuzanne Hauspurg, Ulster County Historical Society (UCHS)
Lynne "Asha" Golliher, Hurley Library
Ulster County Women of Note was a year long collaborative project involving a traveling photo exhibit and women's suffrage rally re-enactment celebrating 100 years of the vote for women.
Get Your Head in the Cloud
Marla Gruner, SUNY Ulster
Heather Gorman, Newburgh Free Library, RCLS
Do you often need to work with others on a single document in real time? Would you like to access your files from any computer or device? Are you frustrated by errant email attachments that seem to save on their own? We can help!
Google Drive is a free suite of products available to anyone with a Google account. It is frequently used by students and others as a free alternative to Microsoft Office and is part of Google’s Apps for Education. We will provide an overview and methods to use the Google products Sheets, Forms, Slides, and Docs for collaboration, organization, and productivity. We will also cover management of Google Drive.
WAVE and Web Accessibility
- Wave and Web AccessibilityTina Kiernan, Dutchess Community College
As academic institutions face potential litigation revolving around web accessibility for students with disabilities, the Ritz Library decided to take a proactive stance and evaluate every library website for WAVE compliance. This short talk will cover using the Web Accessibility Evaluation tool and the software changes that had to occur to be compliant.
Personalizing the First Year Students' Library Experience
- Personalizing the First Year Students' Library ExperienceKaren Shea, United States Military Academy at West Point
Heather Seminelli, United States Military Academy at West Point
In the fall of 2017, the United States Military Academy Library initiated a Personal Librarian (PL) program for the freshman (Plebe) class. The goals of the program were to provide members of the Plebe class with a library contact in order to alleviate fears that they might have about asking for help, and to forge relationships that last beyond Plebe year.
The PL program is now going into its fourth semester. We will present slides and talk about the processes that went into creating the program, its problems and successes, and the changes we are considering as we move forward.
Making a difference with Instagram
Courtney Wimmers, Mid-Hudson Library System
Social media is an inescapable part of most people’s daily lives. In order for libraries to remain relevant, they need to embrace new forms of communication with their patrons and community through social media. For libraries to truly connect with their communities, they need to have an impactful social media presence. One of the most popular current social media platforms is Instagram. Instagram is a photo and video sharing site where users can interact with one another by following other users, and liking, commenting on, and sharing one another’s photos.
By creating an Instagram account and regularly interacting with people in the community, as well as local businesses and organizations, libraries can insert themselves into their patrons’ daily lives in a positive way. By interacting online with their community members, they are ensuring that people think about their library regularly in a positive light. A library’s online Instagram community is just as important as its real one. Libraries are often said to be the pillars and centers of their communities. Why wouldn’t a librarian want their library to be at the center of their online community as well?
Librarian Infiltration on Campus: Multi-faceted Outreach Methods
Tess Hartman-Cullen, SUNY Ulster
Marla Gruner, SUNY Ulster
We will briefly show the myriad ways we are attempting to reach out to faculty, staff, and students to demonstrate the value of the library and to encourage use of our services. Some examples include social media, surveys, pop up libraries, and research assignment partnership.
Learn Forward: An Information Studies Curriculum for the 21st Century
KellyAnne McGuire, Bard College at Simon's Rock
A new era requires a new approach to information literacy. Instead of one-shots, clinics, and workshops, we engage 21st-century learners through a series of courses addressing transliteracy, which blends disparate literacies—information, digital, media, communication, and visual—necessary to successfully navigate rapidly evolving learning environments. Our innovative curriculum comprised of unique, one-credit, seven week courses takes traditional library instruction in a new direction, less narrowly focused on skills that have too little durable value outside the academy. Courses such as Reading Images, Information Design, Digital Privacy, and Information Privilege are designed with students’ needs and interests in mind. Combining theoretical readings with hands-on activities using emerging technologies creates confidence and resiliency in students. We will present our experience developing this curriculum, student and institutional response, and reflections.
Programming for All Abilities
- Programming for All AbilitiesAmy K. Smith, Red Hook Public Library
Small libraries want to serve their full communities, but frequently don’t have the budget nor staffing to program for children and adults with special needs. Families of individuals with special needs often can’t take advantage of public programming. Yet, they’re looking for more opportunities for their loved ones to socialize, learn and have fun; opportunities public libraries can provide.
Based on Red Hook Public Library’s “All Abilities,” this presentation shows how to add programs for children, teens and/or adults with special needs without breaking the budget. Whether it’s adding a monthly social hour, or developing regular adaptive story time, there are options for even the smallest of public libraries.
Promoting Adoption of a New Idea: A Case Study of the Innovation-Decision Process of a Streaming Video Platform
- Promoting Adoption of a New Idea: A Case Study of the Innovation-Decision Process of a Streaming Video PlatformGina Shelton, Dominican College
Buy-in from stakeholders can be a crucial component to the successful adoption of a new library service, technology, or idea. So what factors promote buy-in and explain why a new idea is (or isn’t) adopted within a community? This presentation will examine the adoption of a new streaming video platform at an academic institution using Everett Roger’s model of the Innovation-Decision Process. Through this case study, attendees will learn elements of innovation diffusion (like collective innovation-decisions, champions, and critical mass) which can be applied to new ideas at their own institutions.
Teaching Digital Literacy
- Teaching Digital LiteracyLois Parker-Hennion, Tappan Zee High School
We all know digital literacy is important, but what does it look like in action? Find out by getting to know the TT Digital Literacy Framework, and previewing samples from its new lessons series. The Teaching Tolerance Digital Literacy Framework offers seven key areas in which students need support developing digital and civic literacy skills:
1. Students can locate and verify reliable sources of information.
2. Students understand how digital information comes to them.
3. Students can constructively engage in digital communities.
4. Students understand how online communication affects privacy and security.
5. Students understand that they are producers of information.
6. Students understand their role as customers in an online marketplace.
7. Students can evaluate the value of the internet as a mechanism of civic action
The Great Weeding: Crash Course on Weeding Your Collection
- The Great Weeding: Crash Course on Weeding Your CollectionSharon Fetters, St. Thomas Aquinas College
Virginia Dunnigan, St. Thomas Aquinas College
In the fall of 2015 our library staff was asked to weed our collection to make space for a learning lounge. We had to weed our nearly half of our collection (around 55,000 books). This presentation is our experience about how we faced this great weeding project. How we worked with OCLC and Better World Books. How we organized our staff and dealt with all the emotions of faculty. We were able to complete the project in two months.
Planning an Institutional Data Repository
- Planning an Institutional Data RepositoryAmy Schuler, Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
Libraries and institutions of all types often find they need a repository to publish and manage their collections. At the Cary Institute, our primary product is research data. I will describe the planning and (near) implementation of our small research data repository.
Celebrating Faculty Scholarship
- Celebrating Faculty ScholarshipHeather Seminelli, United States Military Academy Library
At USMA, we are in the process of planning our 3rd Celebration of West Point Authors. This event is hosted by the library on behalf of the Dean each semester. We prepare by gathering all published or presented works from staff and faculty during the previous 6 month period covering either January - June, or July - December. I will discuss how we gather these citations, validate, input into citation management software, produce a bibliography for the event, and how we plan the program itself, as well as lessons learned from previous iterations.
A Journey into the Past
Mary Jo Russell, Vassar Brothers Medical Center
What can be found in the bottom of a box or in the wall of an old home? In both cases, an 1893 photo of nurses and the original accounting ledger! These are just a few of the findings that make up the collection of the Archives at Vassar Brothers Medical Center. With a story board and artifacts, this poster presentation will showcase examples of historical preservation and ongoing work to bring the history of the hospital to light.