Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for Inter-library loan: Publications

Journals

Journal of Interlibrary Loan, Document Delivery & Electronic Reserve LogoJournal of Interlibrary Loan, Document Delivery, and Electronic Resources:

This is a peer reviewed journal that includes articles on all aspects of resource sharing. According to their aim and scope, "this journal aims to support the wide spread and fast paced advancement of library resource sharing by capturing the trials, research, and innovations of librarians and library professionals, both local and international, and delivering news of these endeavors to the benefit of others in the field."

Print ISSN: 1072-303X Online ISSN: 1540-3572. Some articles are Open Access; most are subscription. More information is available on the journal's website. 
 
 

Reference & User Services Quarterly LogoReference & User Services Quarterly

This is the official journal of the ALA RUSA section. Articles are published on a variety of topics including reference, collection development, reader's advisory, and resource sharing. It is double blind reviewed and completely open access(!) From their focus and scope: "In response to the nature of our rapidly evolving field, the journal publishes empirical (quantitative and qualitative), theoretical, and historical research and essays as peer-reviewed featured articles. Through its many columns, reports, and reviews the journal also publishes an array of useful professional information." 

More information is available on the RUSA website.

 

Journal of Access Services LogoJournal of Access Services

This is a peer-reviewed journal that includes research, theory, and practice papers relating to all aspects of access services. This includes topics such as document delivery, inter-library loan, and managing reserve collections. According to the journal's aim and scope, they  "looks for best practices and new insights of the Access Services that may be based on research, studies, and experiences."

Print ISSN: 1536-7967 Online ISSN: 1536-7975. Some articles are Open Access; most are subscription. More information is available on the journal's website.

Database

Books

Library Information and Resource Sharing LogoLibrary information and Resource Sharing: Transforming Services and Collections

Edited by Beth Posner, 2018

From the book's description: "Through the perspectives of interlibrary loan (ILL) specialists, this book examines what ILL departments are doing, the value of ILL librarians in the evolving library environment, and how library collections and services are being affected by new ILL policies."

 

https://www.worldcat.org/title/resources-anytime-anywhere-how-interlibrary-loan-becomes-resource-sharing/oclc/964294014 Resources Anytime, Anywhere: How Interlibrary Loan Becomes Resource Sharing

By Ryan Litsey, 2017

From the book's description: "Resources Anytime, Anywhere illustrates how academic libraries can take an  active role in developing technology to meet the needs of their patrons. Through designing our own products and sharing them with other libraries, we can join the lessons of the past with the technology of today to create a more interconnected library that can meet the future needs of library patrons."

 

Resource Sharing Today logoResource Sharing Today: A Practical Guide to Interlibrary Loan, Consortial Circulation and Global Cooperation

By Corrine Nyquist, 2014

From the book's description: "Resource Sharing Today is a practical guide to resource sharing starting with the library across town and ending with libraries on the other side of the globe. Chapters cover everything from the ALA’s interlibrary loan form to successful innovations such as Virginia Tech’s ILLiad to New York’s IDS (Information Delivery Service). Appendices include regional, state, national, and international ILL codes, ALA and IFLA forms, open access agreements, and purchase on demand plans."

Web Resources - News

Minitex News LogoMinitex News | https://news.minitex.umn.edu/news/list/16

Minitex regularly posts news related to Inter-library loan. This includes information about conferences, vendors, and advice for ILL practitioners. While some of their articles are specific to Minitex Libraries (a consortium of libraries in Minnesota, North Dakota and South Dakota) the majority would be relevant to ILL staff in New York.

 

infoDocket LogoLJ Info Docket | https://www.infodocket.com/

Info Docket (from Library Journal), collects and shares news relevant to library professionals. While this isn't specific to inter-library loan, there are often relevant posts about vendors, access issues, and newly published articles.

Southeastern NY Library Resources Council
21 South Elting Corners Road | Highland, NY 12528
Phone: (845) 883-9065
www.senylrc.org