About
This page contains additional, miscellaneous resources for ILL practitioners. If there is something you would like to see included, please contact Kelsey!
ILL 101
IDS regularly hosts a series of trainings at conferences called "ILL 101". These courses cover the basics of borrowing, lending, ILL assessment, and copyright. Recordings from the virtual 2023 OCLC RS conference are now available:
Practical Tips for New ILL Staff
- Recording of " Practical Tips for New ILL Librarians"
At the 2017 OCLC Resource Sharing Conference, Cassie Maringer and Melissa Jackson presented on tips for those new to ILL.
- Practical Tips PDF
Tips for ILL practitioners created by Jackson and Maringer.
Licenses
- Liblicense
This site includes resources related to content licenses. The site includes a discussion forum, information on different licenses, and definitions of clauses that often appear in contracts. This is not intended as a replacement for legal advice.
- RUSA Model ILL Clause
RUSA STARS has created a sample clause to use when negotiating inter-library loan rights with content vendors.
Filling difficult Requests
- Audio recording of presentation "Tips & Tricks for Handling Difficult Requests"
This links to the audio recording of a 2018 OCLC Conference presentation called "Tips & Tricks for Handling Difficult Requests," given by Tina Baich, Lapis David Cohen, and Melissa Jackson. They discussed various strategies for filling challenging ILL requests, such as using MARC records, and shared resources for translating citations, figuring out truncated journal titles, and tapping into open access.
Alphabet Soup: Resource Sharing Terms & Definitions
- Glossary
The Resource Sharing community has many terms and acronyms that can be sometimes be overwhelming to newcomers. This glossary identifies major ILL vendors / tools and provides definitions of many common resource sharing terms. Definitions include links to more information when possible.
Equity, Diversity, Inclusion and Accessibility
- Making Library Materials Available in Accessible Formats via Inter-library Loan
A document from OCLC Shares outlining best practices and copyright basics for accessibility. It also touches on the equipment commonly used in ILL departments to create accessible materials.
- Presentations on Accessiblity/Print disabilities
Two presentations from the 2023 NWILL Conference focusing on adding accessibility measures to ILL workflows.
- DEI, ILL, and a Call to Action
A presentation from the 2021 NWILL Conference by staff at the University of Missouri-Kansas City library. The presentation touches on the ILL department's efforts to address racism and inequity in their library and resource sharing practices.
Communication & Outreach Tools
Presentations: 
"Interlibrary Loan Marketing 101"
A recording of a 2022 presentation by Lori Mulloly from USMA. The presentation focuses on the fundamentals of marketing and how these can be used to promote ILL services. The webinar also highlights some free marketing resources available.
“Time Well Spent: Fine Tune Your Communications to Improve Customer Service and Efficiency”
Carol Nelson and Kay Westergren presented “Time well Spent: fine-tune your communications” at the 2019 OCLC conference. The Presentation Slides and associated Handout share several ideas for communicating with both patrons and co-workers.
Select Library Marketing Websites:
Marketing Libraries Journal: a peer-reviewed open access journal focused on marketing strategies and campaigns for libraries.
Librarian Design Share: a database of real library marketing and design campaigns.
Tech-talk: a training resource available to Southeastern members. It includes a database of training videos and a weekly newsletter on a variety of topics, many relating to communication and outreach. More information on accessing Tech-Talk is on Southeastern’s website.
International ILL Toolkit
- Toolkit Link
A crowd-sourced resource to facilitate international ILL. It includes: a list of different lenders across the world, tips and tricks for international ILL, and request templates in different languages.