Novel Coronavirus: Resources for Healthcare Professionals

Data for Daily Endemic / Pandemic Life (Updated 28 April 2022)

Find COVID-19 guidance: level of community transmission; masks; vaccines; testing; treatment (CDC)
Level of Community Transmission - COVID-19 Integrated County View (CDC)
Find a COVID-19 Test Site (NY Dept of Health)
NY COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker
NY COVID-19 Tracker: Positive tests, Fatalities, Daily Trends

COVID Data Tracker Weekly Review (CDC) - MUST READ
COVID-19 Forecasts: Cases (CDC)
Laws and Regulations (CDC)

General resources:

DisasterLit database: National Library of Medicine database including scientific literature relating to public health emergencies.   

COVID-19 Resources for Medical Librarians & Other Health Information Professionals: a page of useful COVID resources specifically geared towards Health Information Professionals. It was curated by the Medical Library Association (no longer actively updated).  

Information for Healthcare Professionals: information on COVID-19 from the CDC specifically geared towards health professionals.

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report: MMWR reports from the CDC. 

Rural Healthcare Surge Readiness: a hub of information and resources geared towards rural healthcare providers as they prepare for COVID-19 surges.

Guidelines:

NIH Treatment Guidelines: guidelines for treating COVID-19 compiled by the National Institute of Health.

COVID-19 Guidelines: guidelines from different governments and medical societies, compiled by UptoDate. 

Staying Safe:

Strategies for Optimizing the Supply of PPE: strategies from the CDC on prolonging PPE supplies that are stressed due to COVID.

Understanding the Chain of Infection: The Association for the Healthcare Environment has released several COVID-19 resources for environmental services professionals.

Visual Real-time Tracking of COVID-19 from Johns Hopkins CSSE: a comprehensive COVID-19 monitoring dashboard which includes data on infections, recoveries, and deaths within individual countries.

New York Early Warning Monitoring Dashboard: Shows testing / tracing targets, new infections, severity of infections, hospital capacity.

The COVID Tracking Project Data: Data on COVID-19 cases, tests, hospitalizations, and deaths updated daily.

COVID-19 Data in the U.S.: An ongoing repository of data from the New York Times on coronavirus cases and deaths in the U.S.

COVID-19 predictions: Projections of various data relating to COVID-19 (deaths, infections and testing, hospital resource use, mask use and social distancing) through March 2021.

COVID-19 Reported Patient Impact and Hospital Capacity by Facility: Dataset provides facility-level data for hospital utilization aggregated on a weekly basis (Friday to Thursday), compiled by HHS.

If you need to request a medical article via inter-library loan and there is a lending charge, New York State will cover the charge through the Medical Information Services Program (MISP). Complete this form to make a request.

PubMed COVID-19 Clinical Queries
PubMed: canned search for COVID-19 in PubMed.
COVID-19 Lit Searches: a resource from the Medical Library Association which provides links to specific literature searches.

Databases of COVID-19 scholarly literature:

Lit-Covid: a curated database of COVID-19 scholarly articles in PubMed.

W.H.O. COVID-19 Literature Database: a database of global scientific research related to COVID. It is updated M-F.  

CDC Science Update: Weekly summaries from the CDC library of recent COVID-19 related research.

Pre-prints:

COVID-19 SARS-CoV-2 preprints from MedRxiv and bioRxiv: databases of pre-print literature related to health sciences and biology, respectively.  

PubMed Pre-prints: search results of SARS-CoV-2 pre-prints in PubMed.

Retracted Papers:

Retracted coronavirus (COVID-19) papers: a database of retracted articles related to COVID-19. Provided by the Center for Scientific Integrity. 

Data Collection Tools:

COVID-19 Research Tools: a repository of COVID data collection tools currently in use, provided by the National Institute of Health from NIH Public Health Emergency and Disaster Research Response (DR2).

As a response to Covid-19, many publishers and content providers have offered free or expanded access to scholary materials related to COVID-19. The list below includes just a selection of these resources.

Access Medicine COVID-19 Central Clinical Information, Risk Assessment, Prevention and Quarantine, and Travel Advisories

DynaMed Coronavirus (COVID-19) collection

EBSCO COVID-19 Updates & Information for Healthcare Professionals

Elsevier Novel Coronavirus Information Center: includes guidelines for clinicians and patients

JAMA Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Collection: resources on epidemiology, clinical management, public health preparedness, patient info

The Lancet COVID-19 Resource Centre

NEJM Coronavirus (COVID-19) collection

Ovid 5Minute Consult 2019 Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV)

Ovid COVID-19 Tools & Resources for Clinicians:  resources for front-line clinicians and medical researchers

UpToDate Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-10): clinical decision support tool. 

Wiley Online Library Covid-19: Novel Coronavirus Outbreak